Precision M4600 Owners Lounge

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by afhstingray, May 26, 2011.

  1. S1m0n32002

    S1m0n32002 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have an AMD based laptop from ASUS here and it has a feature that disables the dedicated gpu to save power (enduro ?) and i've also read somewhere that the m4600 doesn't support external display with the AMD gpu but I might be wrong.
    Anyway I also need to change the heatpipes because I think the layout is different, isn't it?
     
  2. S1m0n32002

    S1m0n32002 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Anyway with the Quadro 2000M I mainly play CoD MW3, Titanfall 2 (videoconfig.txt edited to obtain stable 30fps), Robocraft and some older titles like UT 99/2003 when I'm not at home and being unable to use the quadro when I'm not plugged in is really frustating. I was wondering if the Firepro had the same issue or if this was some sort of protection for the battery integrity.
     
  3. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    598
    Messages:
    2,673
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    131
    You can use the external display with AMD. But it doesn't support Enduro, the feature that you are talking about that disables the dedicated GPU to save power. That feature is available with an NVIDIA card like what you have right now, but it wasn't available with AMD cards until the Precision M4800.

    Pretty sure that you can use the same heatsink assembly but not positive on that.
     
  4. S1m0n32002

    S1m0n32002 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Tell me if I'm wrong. If I will install the firepro I won't be able to switch to the integrated gpu to save power and I will have shorter battery life but almost the same performances on ac and battery?
     
  5. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    708
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Enduro is what your describing, but the m4600 doesnt support it. So its a direct connection to the GPU.

    With the AMD GPU and no dock I was only able to use 1 external display. So I used a USB 3.0 monitor so I could have multiple displays but thats only because I didnt want a dock.
     
  6. S1m0n32002

    S1m0n32002 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So I will be able to have full performance anytime in any condition. That's way better than I expected since the Quadro without Optimus will limit itself at 30 fps (or less) everything while in battery.
     
  7. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    708
    Trophy Points:
    131
    No, the battery can't output that level of power, you can try hut I have never been successful gaming on battery.
     
  8. S1m0n32002

    S1m0n32002 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Oh, this explains a lot of things. Anyway I don't need more than 30fps on battery. And if I need more than 30fps I will bring an inverter with me.
    Anyway, to keep things short:
    >forget Nvidia
    >go for a M5100
    >I won't be able to switch gpu
    >battery will shut down my gpu
    >I won't probably need to change heatsink
    >lcd dimmer will work
    >I just need to uninstall nvidia software and install AMD software
    If I forgot something please tell me
     
  9. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    708
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Not shut down but reduced clocks
    Need to confirm heatsink model number
    Brightness control on windows 10 iffy, sometimes works sometimes doesn't but can always force max in bios.
    Yes, ddu to be on the safe side.
     
  10. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    598
    Messages:
    2,673
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    131
    To clarify on the battery. Power draw from the battery is limited to 100W. Your system came with a 180W power adapter adapter. So, it's just numbers... It's natural for there to be throttling on battery, you can't expect full performance.
     
Loading...

Share This Page