Precision 7710 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by muzicman82, Mar 30, 2016.

  1. ygohome

    ygohome Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    210
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    155
    Trophy Points:
    81
    A minor nuance/nuisance(?) in 1903 on the 7710 is that when docking/undocking where the primary display scaling has changed, windows no longer gives the option in Display settings to sign-out to correct the scaling for programs that do not adjust correctly to the new scaling (sign-out also fixes oversize taskbar buttons when the scaling is changed after docking/undocking). This might not be an issue on the later generations of 77x0, but on 7710 it always requires signing out if the display scaling changes at all for some programs to display correctly. Having that sign-out option on the Display setting screen was convenient.

    I dock my laptop where the external monitor is the primary display at 100% scaling but when undocked the laptop is the primary with scaling other than 100% (175% for example). In the previous versions of windows 10 before 1903 the Display settings screens would recognize the scaling change and suggest sign-out with a link to actually perform the sign-out right there. That sign-out option is no longer on the Display settings screen. It's not a big deal, just a little "nuance" changed from the previous. I have to right click start -> sign-out instead of clicking right in the Display settings screen where I changed the scaling.

    It's only a little detail. I felt I hadn't posted enough lately and this gave me perfeect opportune excuse to do so.
     
  2. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    796
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Under "Advanced scaling settings" there is a toggle for "Let Windows try to fix apps so they're not blurry." The name for this setting is a little misleading. If you have this toggled on, what it actually does is... If your primary display scaling ratio changes (i.e. you undock or redock, or you manually change it) then all you should have to do is close and re-open an application to get it to use the new scaling ratio, instead of completely signing out of Windows and signing back in.

    Maybe they figured that with this feature it is no longer necessary to "suggest" that people fully sign out after a scaling ratio change.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2019
    ygohome likes this.
  3. ygohome

    ygohome Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    210
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    155
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Edit: basically the Start Menu shortcut for the Dell -> Touchpad is deleted and rebuilt on every reboot. I don't know why, but it happens on both of our 7710 laptops, but on mine I never see the Deleting window as it occurs, whereas on his he does get that Deleting progression window.
    C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Dell\Touchpad Options(Touchpad)
    I checked mine and it had a date on it from about a week ago (that's the last time I did a restart). I did a windows Restart and after booting I checked again and it had todays date with timestamp of a minute ago.​
    Now I'm curious why he is getting the delete progression window but I do not. It's not a huge deal.

    thanks
    ------------------------


    Hello,

    One of our 7710 gives this message that appears for a few seconds after login when booting into Win 10.

    Deleting 2 items from Programs
    Name: Touchpad Options(Touchpad)
    -979401159999692268.jpg

    This begin happening about one or two months ago, he couldn't remember exactly.

    I took photo of his laptop display with my camera

    I've found an older Dell thread that talks about it but nothing conclusive. https://www.dell.com/community/Laptops-General-Read-Only/TouchPad-in-Windows-10/td-p/5083930

    I've checked for recently installed programs on his laptop, ordered by most recent installation date, but didn't see anything other than the vanilla Win10 built in application/program updates for past few months.

    I've not spent any other time trying to resolve his issue such as uninstalling drivers, etc. but I'll begin that maybe later this week or on the weekend.

    Has anyone here seen this before and did you resolve it? Any ideas or suggestions before I get started uninstalling or updating drivers?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2020
  4. jakubd

    jakubd Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did anybody try to feed the machine with over 64GB or RAM? I found (probably wrong) information on Wikipedia, that it should support 128GB of RAM. As often that the original specs contain only the amount of memory testes by the manufacturer and in real life chipset in fact supports more.

    Anyway it seems that this is mostly limited by the memory controller in the CPU:
    https://ark.intel.com/content/www/p...6820hq-processor-8m-cache-up-to-3-60-ghz.html
     
  5. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    796
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Someone tried this (with the 7510 I think, but 7710 would be the same). It will accept 32GB modules, but if you install more than 64GB, it will cap the available memory to 64GB. Might just be an unfortunate BIOS limitation.
     
  6. TPGRENIER

    TPGRENIER Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello, do you know if it is possible to swap my M3000M to P3000 just modifying .INF file?
    I took a pic from my 7710 with P3000

    Tks !

    upload_2020-7-28_16-34-15.png
     
  7. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    796
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Trophy Points:
    231
    See this post where i describe the INF mod for Precision/Quadro.
     
  8. TGoodwin518

    TGoodwin518 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi 7710 owners. Has anyone tried upgrading their display from the 1080p FHD to the 4K UHD display? Is it easy to do so? Would you recommend a specific display to buy and also the correct cable to buy? I'm considering it, but there's just so many options out there in regards to display's and I don't wanna buy one that's not gonna look great -- and I also just want to make sure it's possible.

    Lastly -- if anyone knows of a site or forum where I can get the exact part numbers of every OEM part made for the 7710, that'd be awesome to have :) I've been having trouble finding OEM part numbers on Dell's own website, as well as Dell Part Source.
     
  9. JamesJAB

    JamesJAB Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need both the LCD panel and the 4K capable display cable.

    Display Cable Dell PN: 6GXDN
    4K LCD screen (IGZO) Dell PN: 2RCX9 (AU Optronics PN: B173ZAN01)
     
  10. TGoodwin518

    TGoodwin518 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for replying. Does B173ZAN01 have a camera on it? I ask because the 7710 I have doesn't come with a camera, and the display cable sticker shows "EDP_Cable_W_Camera_UHD". Would having a model without a camera pose a problem? Here's the cable I'm looking @, for reference : https://www.ebay.com/itm/4K-LCD-LVD...399612?hash=item2f4030bffc:g:29MAAOSwaANcvbTq
     
Loading...

Share This Page