Precision 7560 & 7760 Owners' Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by hoxuantu, Jul 8, 2021.

?

Which Precision do you own?

  1. 7560

    50.0%
  2. 7760

    50.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. ceasar2k6

    ceasar2k6 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ah,,ty

    i was also trying to fidn power settings, like how bright to keep screen on battery and ac powered, etc.. but couldn find. also my power settings only offered balanced mode? unless it moved to a different location>?
     
  2. Chin_Chan_Lee

    Chin_Chan_Lee Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you're looking to access high power mode, enter this into the command line:
    powercfg /s 8c5e7fda-e8bf-4a96-9a85-a6e23a8c635c

    You'll see that a new high performance mode will appear in Power Options
     
  3. ceasar2k6

    ceasar2k6 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16

    but i guess i have to wonder, why is it not enabled by default and such>?
     
  4. Chin_Chan_Lee

    Chin_Chan_Lee Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm wondering why high performance mode was hidden away from us; sure maybe the average Precision user will be more computer literate than the average laptop user, but what is there to gain from this?
     
  5. SvenC

    SvenC Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    42
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    41
    As far as I remember it is a Windows default to hide the perf mode, not a decision from Dell.
     
  6. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    859
    Messages:
    5,523
    Likes Received:
    1,995
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Yes, this is a change from Microsoft. You're "supposed" to use Balanced mode and instead use the power slider in the flyout that you get when you click the tray battery icon. There's not any options to customize the behavior of the different power slider positions, though. Changing the power mode still works, I do it with a batch script pinned to the start menu.
     
  7. bklawton

    bklawton Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Looks like the options way of controlling the power mode is making a return with Windows 11. Here's what I see with the latest beta (22000.176). In earlier versions it was still using the slider like you described.
    upload_2021-9-8_9-4-29.png
     
  8. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    859
    Messages:
    5,523
    Likes Received:
    1,995
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I've actually looked at this. The drop-down in Windows 11 settings actually is a replacement for the power slider in the flyout, not the older power profiles system. They removed the power slider and replaced it with a functionally equivalent drop-down in Settings as you have shown in your screen shot. (I have lots of small issues like this with Windows 11 — they've taken away or made more cumbersome a number of convenient things for power users. Takes way more steps to change the power mode now.)

    You can still use power profiles as well (switching via command prompt).

    I actually have a command-line program to switch the power slider (& Windows 11 settings drop-down) value as well if anyone would like to be able to script it.
    https://github.com/AaronKelley/PowerMode
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2021
  9. Razibus

    Razibus Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thanks, I will try your parameters. I wonder how the adaptive mode works exactly. Is it machine learning based?

    Yes, it is not too bad. Thanks for the suggestion. However, the profile should change depending on the brightness of the screen and I don't think this is the case here but I could be wrong.

    Otherwise, I have some administrative events I would like to fix, especially several Kernel-PnP. It is the event 219 and I get the messages "The driver \Driver\WudfRd failed to load for the device":
    • PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_9A03&SUBSYS_0A6A1028&REV_05\3&11583659&0&20
    • {DD8E82AE-334B-49A2-AEAE-AEB0FD5C40DD}\DetectionVerification\5&e905f39&0&0
    • USB\VID_0A5C&PID_5843&MI_01\6&c3ac727&0&0001
    • USB\VID_0A5C&PID_5843&MI_02\6&c3ac727&0&0002
    • HID\Vid_8087&Pid_0AC2\6&2a0fc6b6&0&0000
    • CVUSBDRV\CV3_WBF_PROVIDER_TOUCH\7&14333b5&0&513
    • BCMNFCUSB\NFC_CV3_PROVIDER\7&34da902&0&257
    I think I may be missing some drivers. Does anybody have the same warning message(s)?

    On that note, I also have one application error, event 1000:
    Faulting application name: AUDIODG.EXE, version: 10.0.19041.1151, time stamp: 0xa9fbc825
    Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.19041.1110, time stamp: 0xe7a22463
    Exception code: 0xc0000374
    Fault offset: 0x00000000000ff259
    Faulting process id: 0x2d8c
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d7a729a55e5c6a
    Faulting application path: C:\Windows\system32\AUDIODG.EXE
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
    Report Id: 260229f1-7ba0-4d7e-a648-3ee0e9158292
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    I think this one may be linked to the last Realtek audio driver (Realtek-High-Definition-Audio-Driver_KN22F_WIN_6.0.9210.1_A05).
     
  10. rinconmike

    rinconmike Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I just updated the Realtek Audio Driver via Command Update. On the driver page it notes:

    "This audio driver requires the Dell Optimizer application to be installed to have full functionality."

    Not sure if it makes a difference but do you have Optimizer installed?
     
Loading...

Share This Page