Precision 7530 & Precision 7730 owner's thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by Aaron44126, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. Ionising_Radiation

    Ionising_Radiation ?v = ve*ln(m0/m1)

    Reputations:
    680
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    Trophy Points:
    181
    So, I spoke to NVIDIA regarding the CUDA core count discrepancy, and it appears the RTX 3000 does indeed have 2304 cores, but Dell might've disabled 384 to bring it down to the RTX 2060 level, which is honestly rather back-handed.

    As I type this, I am also speaking to a Dell support officer regarding the matter. Let's see what happens. Might get a new GPU with 2304 cores, might not.
     
  2. Silvery-Corgan

    Silvery-Corgan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello @Ionising_Radiation,

    I am looking to purchase an NVidia RTX 5000 as an upgrade. What is this DGFF thing and is the below info the only thing needed?

    [​IMG]

    I see there is this [490-BFDS][490-BFED] / GFCL786 listed. Using any of the combinations, I cannot find anything relevant on Google or Alibaba. Do you know by any chance a website that supplies parts in European Union?

    I also searched Dell.com however, I couldn't find anything on the parts alone.

    You are the only person I know to have performed such a feat so I'm interested in upgrading my Quadro P5200 to this RTX 5000 on the Precision 7730.
     
  3. Ionising_Radiation

    Ionising_Radiation ?v = ve*ln(m0/m1)

    Reputations:
    680
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Silvery-Corgan likes this.
  4. faenil

    faenil Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thank you. I'd still be interested to know what's the lowest Package CState your laptop can reach while completely idle :)
     
  5. jeremyshaw

    jeremyshaw Big time Idiot

    Reputations:
    767
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    131
    The WD19 dock still has a fan inside. Doesn't always run, and it's somewhat quiet when running. Out of the blue, it spooled up and made a loud whoosh before going back down.

    I don't know what triggers the fan. I am using 3 lower resolution monitors, KB/M, ethernet (FE), headphone audio, and was charging a Nintendo Switch at the time (via the front USB-C port).
     
  6. faenil

    faenil Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    31
    To those who are running Linux, what is the lowest power consumption you see in powertop while the laptop is idle and the dGPU is off?
     
  7. michaeljquinn

    michaeljquinn Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    All
    just lost the laptop's LCD screen (1920x1080) with no display, secondary display works fine)

    xrandr thinks my screen is 3840x2160, but its not !!, its 1920x1080
    Also the BIST has no output

    I have dual boot and windows i10 s cactus as well
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019
  8. Funky185540

    Funky185540 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi there,


    I just wanted to join in on the current discussion about "replacing the GPU". I own a Precision 7530, got the "pre-configured" version with a Quadro P2000, 16 GB RAM and a 512 Class 40 SSD. Instead of "upgrading" the GPU though, I want to "downgrade" my Quadro P2000 for the Intel UMA "adapter board" (or whatever the official naming might be).

    That's because I am a Linux user (and those NVIDIA cards don't play nice with linux) and the configure-it-yourself-Precision-7530 without that NVIDIA card would have cost me another 500$ on top (Ridiculous). So I decided to go for the "downgrade" sometime in the future. I wasn't expecting it to be THAT difficult.

    I live in Europe (Germany) and did some research about it (calling ProSupport in Germany and various other sources):
    1.) Dell does NOT support "upgrades" of components such as the CPU and especially the GPU.
    2.) Those regulations also apply to any service partners, of course.
    3.) Dell does NOT hand out the graphics modules to ANYONE it seems. Instead they require notebooks to be sent directly to them for a repair of the broken parts. Which brings me to:
    4.) Dell has these parts (of course) but only hand them out for repairs of broken units. (It seems to me)

    And since the internals of a notebook are tied to the service code I'm afraid there's not really a way of tricking them into swapping it for me.
    I have also contacted some Dell Partners of ours, but got exactly the same reply as above. I did tell them I would swap/replace it myself, but that didn't help either.

    Now I have found this Link on ebay, which sells one of these UMA boards, but I can't seem to get into contact with the seller and they don't ship outside the US.
    I also found the link to some quote from dell about the part a few pages back (Something itparts....com, can't find it now) which says it's something like 17$. But I couldn't find an "order" link or similar there.


    Does anybody have another idea where one could get a part such as the Intel UMA Board for the Precision 7530?
    I'm starting to run out of options right now and it's really frustrating me....



    On a sidenote:

    Unfortunately, I can only report on the power consumption with the dGPU always turned ON (Graphics switching turned OFF) in Linux, and that's about 30 Watts in idle, which results in a measly 3 hours of battery life...
    Have you ever tested battery life with the dGPU turned on? Did you yield better results than I do?
     
  9. faenil

    faenil Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I don't have a Precision yet... Hence my question :)
    I will wait for someone who can turn the dGPU off ;)
     
  10. bobbie424242

    bobbie424242 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    26
    On Linux you can turn off the dGPU entirely off with bbswitch (which is rather a hack, but that works very well). When done, it consumes 0W since it is off. I uses this all the time on my Thinkpad P72 when I do not need the dGPU (that is, when not connected to external monitor) and it is very efficient. There's no reason it should not be possible on the 7730.
     
Loading...

Share This Page