Precision 7530 & Precision 7730 owner's thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by Aaron44126, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. Ionising_Radiation

    Ionising_Radiation ?v = ve*ln(m0/m1)

    Reputations:
    671
    Messages:
    2,780
    Likes Received:
    2,319
    Trophy Points:
    181
    @xklis,

    I own the Xeon E-2176M, with a base clock of 2.7 GHz and 6/4/2/1 boost clocks of 4.1/4.2/4.3/4.4 GHz respectively.

    The CPU reaches 4.35 GHz under a CB20 single-core load (never precisely 4.4, because the OS has to run background processes, too), and the overall CPU package temperature in a 33 °C ambient room (welcome to a tropical, equatorial, highly built-up island) was around 75 °C.

    I am planning to do a highly rigorous, thorough benchmark with this machine after I've got myself my 32 GB 3000 MHz CL16 RAM and the repaste. Definitely after this semester ends, though.
     
  2. xklis

    xklis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    It's really strange what's happening to your 7730.

    So you're saying that the only 2 ram sticks working configuration is when using
    stock 7730 8GB + stock G5 8GB from your friend right ?
    Both are 2666mhz but different brands ?

    What if you try 7730 stock 8GB stick with one 16GB module (hyperx or gskill) and see if laptop works ?

    I remember a video i watched on Jarrod's tech channel when he tried to upgrade his gigabyte aero 15 and even using compatible ram certified by gigabyte itself (he showed the list where they were mentioned) his notebook was not able to POST.
    The only way to fix the problem is using stock ram stick with just another one on the other slot even if from a different brand !

    Take a look at these also:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...n-5520-7520-7720.800132/page-72#post-10808796
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...n-5520-7520-7720.800132/page-73#post-10808992
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...n-5520-7520-7720.800132/page-74#post-10818881

    He claimed that even using certified dell ram bought from dell website, his 7520 didn't work !
    Dell support eventually told him that only working modules were same exact as the ones already located in his 7520.

    Maybe (it's just my opinion) some OEMs use some kind of ram "mac-address filtering" on "faulty" units that allows the system to work properly only if stock ram is onboard.

    About throttlestop, could you check if stock turbo power limits are PL2=90 and PL1=60 just like in the picture posted by Aaron above ?

    Also with that -140mV undervolt, would it be possible for you to set multipliers like this:

    1 Core Active---->47
    2 Cores Active--->46
    3 Cores Active--->46
    4 Cores Active--->45
    5 Cores Active--->45
    6 Cores Active--->44

    and then run for example Aida64 system stability test (Stress CPU only) for 5-10 minutes and using "CPUID HWMonitor" check these ?:

    1- Cores Frequencies
    2- Cores Temperatures
    3- Cpu Package Power Consumption
    4- Cpu Tdp

    Would be great if you can post some screenshots showing these 4 parameters. Hope you can do it !
     
  3. xklis

    xklis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    HI !

    Whas that 4.35 GHz on single core load achieved without any undervolt ?
    What are stock power limits ? Are they editable too ?

    Not really an expert but when a cpu is running a single core load, this means (for E-2176M) that 1 core (not necessary is core #0 but whatever core from #0 to #5) is AT 4.35 GHz and active while the other five cores are at 2.7 GHz (stock base speed) but not under load ?

    As i hope you have seen from previous messages, throttlestop reports for 8850h "+4" under "turbo overclocking" in fivr.
    Does "E-2176M" also has this "+4" ?

    Is the "overclock box" available or greyed out ?

    If "+4" is not reported, do you confirm that max settings you can set on your E-2176M is this ?:

    1 Core Active---->44
    2 Cores Active--->44
    3 Cores Active--->44
    4 Cores Active--->44
    5 Cores Active--->44
    6 Cores Active--->44
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  4. Cugu

    Cugu Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6

    I have bought hyperx 2666 CL15 2x16GB and now precision works without any problems and super fast. So definitely problem is with management of 3200 rams.

    I also made some tests with trottlestop and have got stable -150mV plus turbo power 75W (60 was stock)
    Below current core multiplier:
    1 Core Active---->47
    2 Cores Active--->45
    3 Cores Active--->45
    4 Cores Active--->43
    5 Cores Active--->42
    6 Cores Active--->41

    Max cpu temperature 93C. Cinebench 1290 , Fire strike 14400 (very close to my friend results with i9 and P5200 :D ). So machine for me is super fast now.
    Also during benchmarks fans are a little quieter than before and during office work are still inactive, laptop surface is pleasently cold.
     
    SvenC likes this.
  5. xklis

    xklis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi,
    I'm glad you solved your problems !:)

    So at this point if stock ram sticks on 7730 i'm interested are 2x8 gb at 2666mhz (i think cl19), according to your experience i "should" not have any compatibility problem if i add crucial ct2k8g4sfs8266 as speed and cl parameters are the same.

    If you run cinebench single core load, with the multipliers you used (1 Core Active---->47,
    2 Cores Active--->45,....) what is the max frequency you can reach ?
    Does it really go beyond stock 4.3 ghz 1 core turbo boost value ?
    At what is the sustained frequency instead ?

    Maybe cinebench lasts too little to appreciate real frequencies, if you have time try to lauch aida64 stress test (CPU only) for max 10 minutes (if you want you can check frequencies using CPUID HWMonitor).

    What can you say about webcam video and audio quality ?
    Even if it's just 720p, is it clear and smooth or image quality is a little grainy and blurry and audio a bit muffled ?
    Does the webcam mic capture fan noise while having chat so that the person on the other side may have difficulties listening to me ?

    What about the exhaust fan on the right ?
    Do you feel any uncomfortable hot airflow coming from there while using the mouse (if you're right handed of course) ?
    I don't really want to "burn" my hand during summer time.

    About fan noise, are they completely quit even when watching youtube 1080p videos or 1080p movies with vlc ?

    Have you experienced so far any sudden fans revving up (for no reason at all) and then after few minutes going to quiet mode again ?

    Hope in your help and thanks for all the info you provided me so far !
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2019
  6. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    740
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Webcam is 1080p, but webcam and mic are decidedly "average" at best. The webcam image is good as long as your are in a well-lit environment, but in a medium or low-lit environment it is pretty terrible. The mic will easily pick up background noise.
    They've been using the same camera for several generations. I'm also pretty sure the exact same parts are used in the Latitude systems. If this is an issue for you then I recommend that you pick up a USB camera and a decent headset.
    (Note, this is the standard cam, I don't know if the model with the IR camera is any better. They currently aren't allowing the IR camera and 4K monitor to be combined.)

    The fan is quiet under light use. (Note, setting "PCI Express link state power management" to "maximum power savings" in Windows advanced power settings is important in order to keep the fan quiet.) It does not rev up if you are watching a video. Whenever it revs up unexpectedly for me, I am able to find some background job in task manager gobbling the CPU. It does rev back down quickly when the load goes away. The heat from the exhaust vents is not an issue either, you have to have you hand really close to the vent in order to feel warm air -- which will only be there if the system is under heavy load -- and even then it is certainly not scalding hot.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2019
    SvenC likes this.
  7. mikecalm

    mikecalm Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    Thanks! Throttle stop works, I don't know why it didn't , nevermind. I will do the test and let you know tomorrow ?
    So far I just underclocked mine and while standard usage, temperature is around 45 degress, and no fan running.
    .
    About the screen .... the more I use, the more it doesn't bother me. I might change it in the future. I was changing screens in the past - still have older Dell with amazing 1920 x 1200, pitty no one makes such laptops anymore.

    Many Thanks!
     
  8. tom7730

    tom7730 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6

    I just got a new 7730. i9-8950HK, 32gb ram, 4 ssds. Using it for music production and video editing. It seems to be performing well but when I run LatencyMon and DPC Latency Checker I get pretty bad results. https://imgur.com/a/dgFUV1Y

    If I haven't noticed any significant performance issues, why am I getting such poor DPC latency?
     
  9. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    26,122
    Messages:
    24,798
    Likes Received:
    43,834
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Maybe same problem as with the other Dell model Dell XPS 15 9570's DPC latency issues are more complicated ...
     
  10. DreamThtr

    DreamThtr Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey guys, I tested my toshiba nvme drive, and am seeing low performance from the write operations, would any one of you know how to fix this?

    7730 i9 32gb ram p5200

    upload_2019-3-21_23-38-16.png
     
Loading...

Share This Page