Possible to upgrade my T60 processor

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Laursen, Aug 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Laursen

    Laursen Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hey ya'll...

    I believe this question requires the main specifications of my Lenovo T60, so here they are:
    - Intel Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz (667 MHz FSB)
    - Mobile Intel 945PM Express Chipset
    - 2.5 GB DDR2 667 MHz RAM
    - ATI X1400 128 MB RAM

    I have a T60 running the above configuration. I was wondering if it's possible to throw in a Core 2 Duo T7600 @ 2.33 GHz (667 MHz FSB).

    I know the my 945PM Express chipset supports the T7600 processor but I was wondering if my Lenovo T60 BIOS also supported the T7600 processor?

    Also, what would I gain of getting a T7600 processor (battery life, boot time, overall speed etc.)?

    Regards,
    Jakob Laursen
     
  2. The Fire Snake

    The Fire Snake Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    426
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I am not sure about the details of the processor but you would be voiding your warranty doing this. Just wanted you to be aware of that.
     
  3. ComputerSpecialist87

    ComputerSpecialist87 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I See no problem in upgrading. And the bios is according to your laptop motherboard specs. But as the guy before warned... you will void your warranty and changing Laptop parts is particularly hard because of the different components to an ordinary desktop so if you are a rookie Please do not go into your laptop.
    Let a professional deal with it. it might cost extra but at least you wont have a mucked up laptop and a voided warranty. although even if you do get a profff to do it. that voids the warranty as well.
     
  4. Arki

    Arki Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,639
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Thread moved to Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades.
     
  5. Bog

    Bog Losing it...

    Reputations:
    4,018
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    206
    The CD has a TDP of 31W, while the C2D does about 34W; you won't know how your cooling system will handle the extra heat until you boot it up.

    Speaking of booting up, you would also need to flash the BIOS to support the Merom family of processors; you should check your manufacturer's website for a BIOS with this functionality added (see release notes), otherwise the upgrade isn't possible.
     
  6. K-TRON

    K-TRON Hi, I'm Jimmy Diesel ^_^

    Reputations:
    4,412
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    You can upgrade your processor, I have many friends with T7200 and T7400's in their IBM/Lenovo T60's.
    The increase in tdp will be fine, and your system will be able to handle it. The fan will be on more, but it should not be a problem.
    After you upgrade your cpu, give undervolting a try, cause that could help decrease the thermal output of the processor without sacrificing performance.

    K-TRON
     
Similar Threads: Possible upgrade
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Is it possible to upgrade the screen in a vostro 3350? May 2, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Samsung i5 to i7 upgrade. Is it possible? Feb 17, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Upgrade Alienware 14 Nvidia 750GT to Nvidia 765GTX, is it possible ? Dec 21, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Clevo W230ST Screen upgrade to QHD+ (3200x1800) possible? Dec 16, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades 14" models that can be upgraded to 1080p IPS now? (not theoretically possible, but possible now ~) Nov 3, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page