1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Possbily impossible to run Sim City 3000 on Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by hernandez, Dec 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hernandez

    hernandez Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Well hello there everyone, hope you're all having a fantastic evening (or whatever the time may be for you)

    I am currently trying to install Sim City 3000 UK Edition on my lovely Dell XPS M1530, which has the super duper Windows 7 installed on it.

    However, I was sad to find out that, well, nothing happens. I try to open up the launcher, but all I get is a bit of music then it stops. I try to open setup.exe, but nothing happens. I've tried all this in compatibility mode for older versions of Windows and even set my screen resolution to 800x600@16bit. My attempts are futile and was wondering if any boffins over here might come up with a solution to this somewhat minor annoyance.

    Thank you!
     
  2. bagienny

    bagienny Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    75
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Have you tried installing latest patches?
     
  3. hernandez

    hernandez Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Dude, how can I possibly do that if I can't even open up the installer on the CD? Did you even read my post, or is this some automatic message you reply to every game problem to boost post count? :confused:
     
  4. Explosivpotato

    Explosivpotato Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Have you tried running a VM? Does your processor support virtualization?
     
  5. surfasb

    surfasb Titles Shmm-itles

    Reputations:
    2,637
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,372
    You can run a VM even if your processor doesn't support hardware virtualization.
     
  6. Kocayine

    Kocayine Formerly 'myDooM'

    Reputations:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Probably but gaming in it wouldnt be much of a joy D: ?

    Although i know that it's possible to play Simcity 3k on win7 i do it myself
     
  7. BrandonSi

    BrandonSi Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    571
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,447
    Have you tried running setup as an administrator? Hold down (left) shift and right click on setup, choose run as admin.

    Probably not going to fix it, but it's worth a try.
     
  8. hernandez

    hernandez Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    That didn't work unfortunately :\

    Not too sure about the virtual machine thing...
     
  9. surfasb

    surfasb Titles Shmm-itles

    Reputations:
    2,637
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,372
    Well, Simcity 4 works just fine.
     
  10. Kocayine

    Kocayine Formerly 'myDooM'

    Reputations:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Well theres a huge difference between those two games 4 is made for xp and 3k for w98
     
Similar Threads: Possbily impossible
Forum Title Date
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) Intel X3100:: Forcing Software Shaders Impossible? Jan 4, 2009
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) y is it impossible to change video cards Jan 3, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page