Poor Performance - Low FPS - 6990M CF (Need help please!!!)

Discussion in 'Alienware 18 and M18x' started by Magical Hob0, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Magical Hob0

Magical Hob0 Newbie

Reputations:
    I had this laptop for about a year. And having some big major gaming issues... I am running games barely at 25-30FPS which clearly I should be running at hire , I do now have the AMD 12.11 Beta driver install, and when I move my windows boxes there are tracers that follow... I am new to this... please speak easily to me..
    My stats >

Intel Core i7-2760QM CPU @ 2.40GHz
    Ram = 16.0 GB
    64bit Windows 7
    two AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series

2. juliant

juliant Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    You could try to save your stuff (personal pictures, files, documents etc.), from the computer on an external hard drive and reinstall your system from the alienware respawn. In case you do not know what alienware respawn is, this is a recovery system (software) installed by alienware / dell for your system and shipped with your machine; this 'software' it helps you restore your system to the manufacturer default. Meaning? Once you do the restore, your system will look exactly as the day you have turned the system on for the first time :)

This is what I recommend. Maybe someone else has a different opinion...

3. Mr. Fox

Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

Reputations:
    I suspect there is a possibility your video cards are overheating because the fans and heat sink radiators are full of dust and lint. If you have owned it a year and have never done a proper cleaning, you are way past due for that anyway. That would be the first thing I would check. You did not mention anything about temperatures, so I am assuming you have not checked them. This is probably the leading cause of poor performance on computers. It tends to creep up on you until it gets to the point of becoming noticeable.