Poll: Do you use Antivirus Software

Discussion in 'Security and Anti-Virus Software' started by basskiddanny, Mar 14, 2007.

?

Do you use anti-virus software on your PC

  1. No, I'm too smart to get infected with a virus

    24 vote(s)
    10.5%
  2. No, Virus protection is useful but it slows down my computer way too much

    16 vote(s)
    7.0%
  3. Yes, I use a free solution (Such as Avast)

    117 vote(s)
    51.1%
  4. Yes, I pay for my anti-virus software and subscription

    49 vote(s)
    21.4%
  5. Yes, I'm crazy and use Norton!

    23 vote(s)
    10.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. usapatriot

    usapatriot Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    3,265
    Messages:
    7,363
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Right now I have no been using virus protection or any spyware protection for over a month.

    I do run windows update, windows firewall is enabled, and my wifi is secured.

    I also use FireFox with NoScript and smart browsing habits.
     
  2. taelrak

    taelrak Lost

    Reputations:
    860
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Eh I guess it depends on the AV.

    I'm sure Norton can come up with a complete integrated solution that can bring even a $90000 state-of-the-art desktop to its knees...all in the interest of improved security of course.
     
  3. zarono

    zarono Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    6
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Norton and Mcafee are definitly more bloated than other solutions, but using even them far outweighs having no security installed. Any relatively newer processor is simply not going to be noticibly slower from running security software.

    All of you running no security are part of the problem, you're making it easier for malware to spread. More than likely there is already malware on your system now.
     
  4. Shocking Pink

    Shocking Pink Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    what's soo bad about Norton? I get it for free from my college.
     
  5. taelrak

    taelrak Lost

    Reputations:
    860
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    As far as detection goes, it's not so bad actually. It's just that it's huge, bloated, and integrates itself so thoroughly into windows that it slows down eeeverything.
     
  6. bmwrob

    bmwrob Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,591
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Not sure that's correct, taelrak, with the current version. The last few reviews I've read rate the latest version of Norton very highly and specifically mention that it's a lighter, trimmed down edition which not only isn't such a resourse hog as in the past, but works very well. Go figure . . .

    FWIW: my own preference is Kaspersky.
     
  7. taelrak

    taelrak Lost

    Reputations:
    860
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    2007 I hear is a noticeable improvement. Unfortunately, I have absolutely no desire to go test if this is true or not after the previous few versions :p

    Maybe I'll dl a trial version for a few weeks before I reformat this desktop :p
     
  8. sapibobo

    sapibobo Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    53
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I am using Norton Internet Security 2007 and i can tell you guys that this version of Norton is day and night compare to its 2006 siblings.

    NIS 2007 does not become hog resource at all. It works inobtrusively in the background. I am using it to public places such as wi-fi equipped cafes, hotel, etc. The detection is good.

    But yes, i have terrible experience with their 2006 and 2005 release. The worst i think is their 2005 release. If you are going to use Norton, use their 2007 release.
     
  9. taelrak

    taelrak Lost

    Reputations:
    860
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I wonder if it'd be better to just use stand-alone applications.

    I.e. Zonealarm Pro Firewall (not internet security suite)
    And then Kaspersky Antivirus.

    Just to get the newest versions of each (Zonealarm Internet Security only uses Kaspersky 6)..
     
  10. unnamed01

    unnamed01 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    194
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I wish I could afford to use a AV program but I just cant afford it...I only 256MB of RAM (223MB due to IGP) running Windows XP, and its insanely slow already.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page