Plundervolt Intel microcode update potentially killing undervolting for security?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by hfm, Dec 10, 2019.

  1. Talon

    Talon Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,353
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    4,143
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I saw that too. I am awaiting to hear if MSI laptops still have access to the BIOS, and if so then we should still be able to go in there and set a manual voltage or offset ourselves.I like the looks of the new MSI GS66 but can't justify a purchase until 10nm high end with new gen GPUs. I'm sitting just fine with my 8750H and 2080 Max-Dud.
     
    jc_denton likes this.
  2. seanwee

    seanwee Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    347
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    709
    Trophy Points:
    131
    High end 10nm is coming in mid to late 2021 and amd will have released ryzen 5000 (zen4) by then which will already be on 5nm and probably have smt-4 with 12/16 cores per ccx.

    I'll be waiting for nvidia's 4000 series gpus before getting a new laptop. 2022 hopefully.

    You are free to join my ever growing party of people with superpowered (shunt modded) mobile RTX cards in the meantime to weather the long wait till then.
     
  3. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,648
    Messages:
    27,230
    Likes Received:
    50,717
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Dell is well represented on the shame list... And I expect more models will be added on the list as new firmware being thrown out.

    BLACK LIST. Adjustable voltage control/turbo ratio limits are locked out due latest Win Update/Bios
     
    jclausius, Vasudev, Mr. Fox and 2 others like this.
  4. hfm

    hfm Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,038
    Messages:
    4,824
    Likes Received:
    2,504
    Trophy Points:
    231
    as long as my silly little 15W 4 core can push enough to the GPU play games I'll just throw a new GPU in my eGPU and call it a day.. :) At 1600p I'm still GPU limited most of the time even on this paltry CPU. I do worry about not being able to undervolt any longer, hopefully its added to the BIOS at the very least for some units.
     
  5. dvrko

    dvrko Newbie

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Asus added on the shame list recently got a bios update while being ignorant about this intel microcode and that broke my undervolting rip to my laptop I guess I'll have to learn how to live with high temps while gaming
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2020
  6. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,648
    Messages:
    27,230
    Likes Received:
    50,717
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2020
    Vasudev and jc_denton like this.
  7. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    9,770
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    5,198
    Trophy Points:
    531
    The exploits just keep rolling in, Thunderspy. Doesn't worry me though, seems a lot of these require physical access.
     
    Papusan and Vasudev like this.
  8. vesayreve

    vesayreve Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    16
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Guys, GL704GW does disable undervolt. I stupidly updated fw to 309 then checked our specific subforum. Anyway I can flash back to 308 using winflash. It is very simple actually. I think it should work for ALL of the Asus notebooks. Download that.

    Open cmd with admin privileges.
    cd to where winflash.exe is
    then enter Winflash /nodate

    Doesnt matter the version this always works. It worked on my previous Asus laptop too.

    However, now whenever I restart it says "restart needed to update firmware" or some bs like that. And whenever I restart it automatically flashes the recent bios. I updated to 309 using a bios installer, and that might be triggering restart to update thingy. After flashing 308 I rollback firmware driver in device manager which fixes the yellow warning icon it has but it still flashes new bios on restart. How can I fix this, please? There must be a flag or something that triggers that.
     
  9. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,648
    Messages:
    27,230
    Likes Received:
    50,717
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Ask @gieffe22 in my thread... black-list-adjustable-voltage-control-turbo-ratio-limits-are-locked-out-due-win-update-bios
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  10. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,648
    Messages:
    27,230
    Likes Received:
    50,717
    Trophy Points:
    931
    hfm, Vasudev and Mr. Fox like this.
Loading...

Share This Page