Photoshop/Gaming Powerhouse Needed; Budget $5k-$10k

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by C4talyst, Apr 5, 2019.

1. C4talyst

C4talyst Newbie

Reputations:
    I'm a full-time photographer and am in the process of evolving into a national media production company. I need a laptop that will primarily crunch through large RAW files in Photoshop. I also play the game Rust, which is among the most-demanding titles today in terms of the need for CPU/RAM and graphics processing power.

I'm currently on a 3-year-old Alienware 18 with an Intel I7-4910MQ processor at 2.9 Ghz, 32GB of RAM, and a 512GB M2 SSD coupled with a 1TB 7200RPM storage drive. This Alienware has two GeForce GTX 970m graphics cards. I like the large size and the keyboard that includes a separate numeric keypad (I use an XPS 15 for travel). I do not like my 1920x1080 display. The 4k display on the XPS 15 is stunning for processing my images.

I've been looking at Alienware 17 laptops, and Dell Precision Mobile Workstations. I want a 17+ inch screen. I don't care about battery life, portability, style or cost. I want the best machine for handling both Photoshop and Rust. I'm interested in any thoughts on whether the more expensive Quadro graphics cards in the Precision laptops can be configured to benefit me in terms of Photoshop processing, and if they are worth the extreme cost.

Budget: $5,000-$10,000

2. man4mopar

man4mopar Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I haven't looked to see if anything has changed with Photoshop and displaying 10 bit per color. Photoshop likely still only uses openGL requiring a work station video card.
    Only a few laptops from what I can tell have 10bit displays built in. Though if you have a work station video card you can always display on a 10bit external monitor.
    8bit is fully capable of 100%sRGB which has been working for myself a semi-pro photographer. I do large format prints from a Canon Pro-4000.