Pages don't load in Opera

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by McGrady, Jun 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I DL'd Opera on my laptop (specs in sig) and it worked fine but now all of a sudden I can't see any website. It's just blank, the page is white screen. The last thing I remember doing was disabling popups by right clicking and block content. I tried deleting private data but that didn't help. Anyone know the problem or solution? I also tried re-installing.
     
  2. Gregory

    Gregory disassemble?

    Reputations:
    2,869
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
  3. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    No. It's not really that problem. It seems like the pages load, but just no picture or content.
     
  4. snake001

    snake001 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hey,
    did You manage somehow to solve this problem? I have had the same problem few times, but restarting Opera always helped; today nothing helps, i tried re-installing - still blank.

    If you found solution somehow, please could you post it?

    greetz,
    s001
     
  5. qhn

    qhn Notebook User

    Reputations:
    1,654
    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    i can think of 2 possible things that can cause this "known" pet-bug:
    . firewall/virus scanner blocking Opera 9.5 and/or
    . the cache mechanism is schrott; in this instance, u can try to delete all private datas, or actually deleting the cache folder, and try again

    cheers ...
     
  6. ttupa

    ttupa Tech Elitist NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    136
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
  7. snake001

    snake001 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    - neither anti-vir nor firewall is the problem
    - tried deleting cache before, didn't help

    now tried suggested profile reset, still no luck :(

    It's very weird bug, it looks like Opera is totally dead. Doesn't even try to load anything, web page, opera:config, local file...

    F5 doesn't work,absolutely nothing works in main window (panels and transfers seem to be working fine).

    For few days more I won't probably have time to fight with the issue, but I won't let it go that easy...

    Any more ideas, even the creaziest ones :) [well, no windows re-install:p] are welcome :)

    greetings,
    s001
     
  8. Silas Awaketh

    Silas Awaketh Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    891
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try going to the blocked content (Tools - Advanced - Blocked Content), and remove everything from there (evereything), and the see if it works.
     
  9. ttupa

    ttupa Tech Elitist NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    136
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Could you system restore to the time before this problem existed? Or you could go back to before you downloaded O, and try re-installing.
     
  10. snake001

    snake001 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi there,

    problem is solved - it seems every one of you had some rights as the problem was lying in the profile - but Silas Awaketh was indeed right. I found it the hard way unfortunately, the urlfilter.ini file in profile directory contained '*' entry in [Exclude] section -> basically that could be seen in Tools - Advanced - Blocked Content and deleted from there as well.

    I assumed that uninstalling deleted everything, what was not true (sic!)

    I still have no idea how that could happen, but it seems some other people are affected with this issue, too. Hope this is their problem and solution :)

    Thank you for assistance ;)
     
Similar Threads: Pages don't
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Browsers don't append "https" to secure pages Nov 8, 2013
Windows OS and Software IE7 - pages don't load, have to refresh constantly Aug 10, 2008
Windows OS and Software printin pages in win 10 tp in google chrome help. Apr 19, 2015
Windows OS and Software Annoying Bar to the right of webpages May 16, 2012
Windows OS and Software Chrome 14 preloads/renders pages based on URL suggestions Jul 13, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page