P750DM-G: some parts (esp. "0 mWh" battery) need replacing; also maybe future (2+ years) upgrades

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by pianoplayer88key, Oct 12, 2019.

1. pianoplayer88key

pianoplayer88key Notebook Guru

Reputations:
    Hi all...

So I've been using my P750DM-G for a few years or so now, in fact it's pretty much become my daily driver PC. (I also have a desktop with a 4790K, 32GB RAM, GTX 1060 3GB, several 10s of TBs of HDDs, etc, but have only powered it on for maybe a few days or so in the last year and a half or two.)

Main thing is I think I need a new battery NOW (it's totally dead I think), wonder if I should upgrade to the 330 W AC adapter, and the keyboard is so problematic that I'm using an external non-gaming keyboard right now; also not . (Also not sure if I'm fully Spectre-protected, and am thinking of future (2+ years) CPU / GPU / RAM upgrades, etc, but don't want a whole new laptop until DDR6/7 or later, and some of that is maxed out on the current BIOS / whatever.) Current budget won't allow doing everything at once, but after the battery, should I go for the AC adapter or the keyboard first?

Anyway, the battery has been deteriorating over the past year or more, and has now gotten to the point where in HWInfo64 it shows as 0 mWh capacity and 0 V charge and doesn't show wear level. (HWMonitor says 100% wear level and also 0 mWh capacity.) Also if I unplug the AC power cord from the back of the laptop it shuts off instantly.
    (A few months ago, it still showed maybe about a third or half capacity or so, and a bit over a year ago it would shut off in about 30 seconds under load or maybe 30 minutes at idle / power saver light load after unplugging.)

So I'm in need of a new battery last year, but where should I buy it? I originally bought the barebones laptop in December 2015 from RJTech and they have the battery for this laptop for $125, so I'm leaning toward getting it from them.