1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Overclocking the CPU and GPU of a macbook pro!!!

Discussion in 'Apple and Mac OS X' started by dmitrip, Jul 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmitrip

    dmitrip Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    I am just wondering if it is possible to safely overclock the 2.8 ghz cpu on a macbook pro to run at speeds above 3.0? Intel's website lists that the 2.8 ghz cpu has a "turbo" mode. Has anybody tried this?

    Also is it possible to safely overclock the GPU? has anybody tried it?

    Not that I am planning to do this! but just out of curiosity.

    thank you very much.
     
  2. doh123

    doh123 Without ME its just AWESO

    Reputations:
    996
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,729
    I've overclocked GPUs in Windows on Macs fine.. but there's no software made (and I really don't feel like doing it myself) to overclock the CPU or GPU in OSX...
     
  3. tasty_chicken

    tasty_chicken Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Actually i think its pretty easy to overclock both if you have the newer MBP with the Nvidia chipset. By using the Nvidia Control Panel you can up the multiplier (or i think it was the FBS, i don't recall) and GPU clocks very easily with the correct drivers. I've only up the GPU clocks to Nvidia specs, I didn't do the CPU. My temps stayed the same at load. (this was on Windows) Other people have gone further but i didn't risk it. It's a free way to squeeze out a few more FPS.
     
  4. MKang25

    MKang25 NBR Prisoner

    Reputations:
    179
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    I overclock and undervolt my GPU via the VBios, so the clocks and frequency stays the same for OS X and Windows, it gives me higher performance and lesser heat then the default settings.

    For the CPU I just undervolt in OS X via coolbook, and then Undervolt and Overclock in Windows.
     
  5. Luke1708

    Luke1708 Notebook Virtuoso NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    352
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,800
    I prefer using the default settings. sure it gets a little hot, but definitely not hot enough to damage the components. overclocking the gpu will certainly lead to failure sooner or later as the gpu is already hot at default settings.
     
  6. tasty_chicken

    tasty_chicken Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    How did you do this? This sounds like a much better option if it works in both OS.
     
  7. sgilmore62

    sgilmore62 uber doomer

    Reputations:
    356
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,897
  8. castillo4141

    castillo4141 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Is there any way to help with the heatcycles in the GPU? I mean some software that can bring down the GPU heat progressively after some hard gaming or something alike?
     
  9. MKang25

    MKang25 NBR Prisoner

    Reputations:
    179
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Well it is a bit risky because if you do a bad flash you will have a black screen so you will have to boot up blind. I've owned a Sager before this and did alot of tweaking so I am comfortable with this. You would first have to download NBitor, and google the web for the stablest VBIOS for the 9600M GT in which you can overclock it the most. Then you apply the bios first, then go into NBITOR and mess around with the VID levels and gpu clocks and do multiple tests to see which one is the most stable. This method would apply the voltages and clock settings to both OS X and Windows i.e Hard Overclock. Whereas using the nvidia tools would be a soft overclock as you would need to open the program for it to take effect.
     
  10. sgilmore62

    sgilmore62 uber doomer

    Reputations:
    356
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,897
    The display drivers routinely downclock the gpu's in my windows 7 computer.
    Here is a couple of screenshots taken seconds apart.[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page