*Official* NBR Desktop Overclocker's Lounge [laptop owners welcome, too]

Discussion in 'Desktop Hardware' started by Mr. Fox, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,704
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    8,742
    Trophy Points:
    681
    And it turns out it is remote desktop protocol that is one of the issues I have causing win 10 to keep saying you have an upgrade even with the most recent upgrade already incorporated into the image.

    https://blog.netop.com/what-to-know-about-rdp-security

    https://cyware.com/news/understandi...-desktop-protocol-over-the-internet-44351323/

    https://www.cloudflare.com/learning/access-management/rdp-security-risks/

    https://www.passportalmsp.com/blog/security-risks-of-remote-desktop-access

    https://www.darkreading.com/endpoin...top-access-are-far-from-remote/a/d-id/1331820

    https://blog.malwarebytes.com/exploits-and-vulnerabilities/2020/10/brute-force-attacks-increasing/

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/BlueKeep

    https://blog.rapid7.com/2020/10/13/patch-tuesday-october-2020/

    https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2020-16896

    That's right, last month it was so bad the government highlighted Microsoft and their patch of RDP. Everyone should gut it from their builds, along with remote registry and remote workstation and remote assistance. If you don't have to have them, then you do not need the risk.

    But, if you try removing RDP from server 2019, it borks the build entirely, making it unusable. You can easily remove it in NTLite. You can, in a way more complicated way, so so with powershell and enough knowledge with DISM and other Microsoft deployment tools.

    You also need to make sure the setting is turned off to allow sync on network to not explicitly paired mobile devices. Why would Microsoft even allow for such a thing?

    But I digress. Security first. So if you must use windows 10, GUT IT! LTSC, by itself, it's not enough.
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  2. Papusan

    Papusan TURDBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    35,771
    Messages:
    27,828
    Likes Received:
    52,856
    Trophy Points:
    931
    EK Launches QuantumX Delta TEC Water Block ekwb.com | Today

    It is expected to ship out in early December

    EK-QuantumX Delta TEC - Thermoelectric cooler for Intel ekwb.com | Today

    [​IMG]

    Pre-Order €294.03

     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
    Ashtrix, Dr. AMK, Johnksss and 5 others like this.
  3. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,704
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    8,742
    Trophy Points:
    681
    I just saw that. $359.99 USD. Just need a 200W overage for your PSU to be able to feed it, or abouts, and an 8 pin.

    Wish they had something like this for AMD, both mainstream and Threadripper, which also would work with the 3175X from Intel.

    Edit: Here is a 360 all in one if you prefer that-
    https://landing.coolermaster.com/pages/ml360-sub-zero-cryo-clocking/

    Edit 2: Here are LTT and Der8auer's videos:



     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
    GrandesBollas, Talon and Papusan like this.
  4. electrosoft

    electrosoft Tick Tock Clarice....

    Reputations:
    2,456
    Messages:
    3,412
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Linus gets it.... (re: 3090 coil whine)



    I returned a GTX 1080 years ago for the exact same thing. I can't do coil whine. I know it is a normal thing and some cards have it, but my ears are hyper sensitive and it drives me batty. I usually don't wear headphones either.
     
    ajc9988 and Talon like this.
  5. Talon

    Talon Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,410
    Messages:
    3,404
    Likes Received:
    4,261
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Can't find where to purchase the 360 AIO unit, I am going to grab one for more overclocking fun. I have a pretty golden 10900K myself but need thermal headroom. My 1600w T2 PSU was made for this thing lol.

    https://videocardz.com/newz/nvidia-geforce-rtx-3080-ti-to-launch-in-january-2021

    Also looks like 3080 Ti coming Jan 21' for $999 with 20gb VRAM. Nice! Will replace my 3080 with it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
    Johnksss, GrandesBollas and ajc9988 like this.
  6. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,704
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    8,742
    Trophy Points:
    681
    I've got the same PSU and a G2 1600W, so I hear you. I don't know where to pick one up yet. EK has that waterblock on pre-order.

    As to the 3080 Ti, I'm going 6800 XT. $650 fits my budget better and gives the money for a waterblock.
     
    Talon likes this.
  7. Reciever

    Reciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    1,047
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    2,882
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I had a GTX 275 that did that, quickest sale I ever made.
     
    ajc9988 and electrosoft like this.
  8. electrosoft

    electrosoft Tick Tock Clarice....

    Reputations:
    2,456
    Messages:
    3,412
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    Trophy Points:
    231
    My new 1300w PSU arrives today. If it is the card and not a dying/weak PSU, I'll be selling it or returning it. There's no way I'm dealing with coil whine for 2-3yrs.
     
    Rage Set and ajc9988 like this.
  9. tps3443

    tps3443 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    466
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Does the EKWB Cryo fit X299?
     
    Talon likes this.
  10. Talon

    Talon Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,410
    Messages:
    3,404
    Likes Received:
    4,261
    Trophy Points:
    331
    No, this is LGA 1200 only unfortunately. Also sounds like Intel is bringing new overclocking features to 10th and 11th gen via a new Turbo boost or allowing manual adjustment of TVB which can actually be useful as those cores are your best on 10th gen and are identified in the BIOS.
     
Loading...

Share This Page