*Official* NBR Desktop Overclocker's Lounge [laptop owners welcome, too]

Discussion in 'Desktop Hardware' started by Mr. Fox, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    27,344
    Messages:
    34,455
    Likes Received:
    53,918
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I don't know. All I can do it look at the numbers like you, but it has always been that way for me since 1809, and RTX cards won't work with any Windows 10 OS prior to 1809. GeFarts drivers will only install with Windows 7 and 1809 and newer. (Won't install with Windows 8.X either. NVIDIA doesn't support those OSes for RTX.)
     
    Robbo99999 likes this.
  2. jaybee83

    jaybee83 Biotech-Doc

    Reputations:
    3,830
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    8,797
    Trophy Points:
    931
    multi thread ratio gives you the ratio between single thread score and all thread score:

    12183.7 / 593.2 = 20.54

    so basically, 16 physical cores with HT at 32 threads gives you the equivalent multicore performance of 20.54 physical cores vs. single thread performance. so HT gives you an additional 28.4% performance over 16 cores without HT in this case. 20.54 / 16 = 1.28375
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2019
    Mr. Fox and Robbo99999 like this.
  3. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    27,344
    Messages:
    34,455
    Likes Received:
    53,918
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I am going to clean install Windows 10 1903 Pro and see if it fixes it. I doubt it, but will find out. My Windows 10 performance has been absolutely horrible since I had to upgrade to a newer version with the installation of an RTX card. wPrime 32m takes literally twice as long to complete than Windows 7 does. And, that is under both 1803 Enterprise LTSC 2019 and Enterprise 1903 (identical crappy performance).
     
    jaybee83 and Robbo99999 like this.
  4. JoeT44

    JoeT44 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    245
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    554
    Trophy Points:
    106
    @Mr. Fox I left you a message yesterday; I guess you were really busy at work. When I had 4x8 GSkill 4000 installed Windows 7 ran fan though not at the rated speeds and latency but when I did a clean install of windows 10 I kept getting one BSOD after another. Anyway I sent that ram back to Newegg and put my 3600 back in and found that 1 stick was bad. I know it was the ram and not the slot because I tested the bad stick in all 4 slots . So I'm running 3 sticks and have 2 more coming today but with only 3 ram slots populated I installed an earlier version of windows 10 and still kept getting one blue screen after another with different error messages each time. Windows 7 runs fine with 3x8 gb of 3600 so I'm really stumped. In the Apex manual it shows what slots to populate with 1, 2 and 4 sticks of ram but nothing about running just 3. So later today when all 4 of my 3600 is installed hopefully we'll see what happens. I just can't understand why windows 7 runs fine with 3 but 10 does not. BTW I ran that TestMem 5 for 30 minutes with no errors. Thanks Bro.
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  5. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    27,344
    Messages:
    34,455
    Likes Received:
    53,918
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Something must have been messed up with the Windows installations. Seems normal now. Or, maybe the Digi-Nazis have done something to bugger up Enterprise. I installed Pro for testing. I will install Enterprise on another SSD and see if it runs like crap.
    upload_2019-5-25_4-31-6.png
    Yes, yesterday was a horrible day at work. (Nothing bad happened, it just sucked because there were too many people that needed assistance and I spent all day helping other people do their job and got nothing done that I needed to do.) By the time I was able to call you it was late on your side of the country.

    I listened to your message and don't know what to tell you. Maybe there is something wrong with the ISO you burned to USB since Windows 7 is working fine. That, or the Redmond Retards are trying to download something that is goofed up during Windows 10 setup. Maybe try staying disconnected from the internet until setup is finished so it cannot download any updates.

    It's 4:35 AM here. So, I am going to go to bed for a few hours. Never went to sleep last night.
     
  6. Robbo99999

    Robbo99999 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,856
    Messages:
    6,432
    Likes Received:
    5,486
    Trophy Points:
    681
    That's more like it...a 2.5% performance win for Win 7 according to the two runs you showed there, no longer a 41% lead!
     
    Papusan and Mr. Fox like this.
  7. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    21,080
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    39,218
    Trophy Points:
    931
  8. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    27,344
    Messages:
    34,455
    Likes Received:
    53,918
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Fantastic, Brother @Papusan. The immortal P870DM-G lives on yet another generation to continue its turdbook killing spree. :vbthumbsup:
     
  9. Rage Set

    Rage Set A Fusioner of Technologies

    Reputations:
    960
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3,476
    Trophy Points:
    281
  10. JoeT44

    JoeT44 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    245
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    554
    Trophy Points:
    106
    So after I installed the 4th stick of ram W10 went in without even a hiccup. That's weird that I had 0 problems on W7 and so many BSOD's trying to install 10 with 3 sticks of ram.
     
    Robbo99999 and Mr. Fox like this.
Loading...

Share This Page