*OFFICIAL* M18x R1/R2 Owner's Lounge Thread

Discussion in 'Alienware 18 and M18x' started by katalin_2003, May 1, 2012.

  1. Johnksss

    Johnksss .

    Reputations:
    10,868
    Messages:
    19,053
    Likes Received:
    11,579
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Yes. Been running them for a pretty long time now.
     
    littleone562 and rawhide85 like this.
  2. Juang1985

    Juang1985 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    68
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    56


    A single Evo works perfectly. They do not work in raid 0. At least not the 1tb versions. I tried the 850s and they dont work in raid either. some kind of conflict. I got the sandisk Extreme Pro 960gb x2 in raid and never looked back.
     
  3. littleone562

    littleone562 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,417
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I am using 2x evo 840's 500gb in raid 0 working fine :)
     
  4. Johnksss

    Johnksss .

    Reputations:
    10,868
    Messages:
    19,053
    Likes Received:
    11,579
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I thought mine were running fine all this time and found out they were not. I had to recondition them. Now they are back up to par.
     
    reborn2003 likes this.
  5. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    31,658
    Messages:
    36,084
    Likes Received:
    58,816
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I just installed two 1TB EVO in a RAID0 configuration on a customer's M18xR2 about a month ago and it worked perfectly fine. Not sure why that did not work for you.
     
    Gunnar Snellman likes this.
  6. captain008

    captain008 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    176
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hello to all, I finally did it and bought a m18x R2, specs in the sig. I will have to install the OS and drivers from scratch, besides the info in the Clean Windows Install guide, is there any other software that needs to be put on a m18x?

    @Mr. Fox, thanks for answering my questions about the laptop. I see you have the 980m GPU cards in your R2, was it difficult to put those guys in there?
     
  7. CorePax

    CorePax Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    106
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sad to see this thread has died down as I have just received my brand new Alienware M18x R2. And yes it really it brand new with a build date of Oktober 2014, non-refurbished, specs in my sig!

    Hopefully one day I'll be rocking a 980m SLI setup, who knows!
     
  8. captain008

    captain008 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    176
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi CorePax welcome to the forum. I to recently purchased a m18x R2, and like you have a build/ship date of October of this year. Guess we got some from the same batch. This forum is very informative and there are several m18x users who are doing awesome things with there rigs. I too would like to have dual 980m cards but am saving up for an extreme processor first.
     
  9. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    31,658
    Messages:
    36,084
    Likes Received:
    58,816
    Trophy Points:
    931
    No, installing them was really simple. They don't work right yet. There is a bad throttling problem under load and you can only run Windows 8 with pure UEFI boot. I wish I had not purchased them now. 780M SLI is the best option for the M18xR2 unless or until the throttling problems get sorted. There is a thread here and one at Tech|Inferno covering the issues with 980M not working correctly. The Windows 8/pure UEFI problem will likely never be resolved. Windows 8 sucks, but it would be worth putting up with if the throttling problem is resolved.
     
  10. captain008

    captain008 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    176
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    31
    To be honest, seeing the guide require Win 8 was almost a turn off, plus the near $1800 price tag for SLI is keeping it surreal. I was looking at the 780m option, and as luck would have it my system had to go in for power loss issues (when lid is moved). I am being told the GPUs are being replaced so I'm seeing what they will do. I hope the 980ms work out for you. Do they need more than 100 watts for power?
     
    reborn2003 and Mr. Fox like this.
Loading...

Share This Page