*** OFFICIAL GIGABYTE AERO 15 OWNERS LOUNGE ***

Discussion in 'Gigabyte and Aorus' started by BringTheRain403, May 8, 2017.

  1. aw113sgte

    aw113sgte Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I used the windows media creation tool and did a fresh install. Now I am unable to use the recovery image after hitting F9. It goes into the tool and prompts to begin but just restarts the computer. I didn't touch the partitions. Any ideas?
     
  2. lebellium

    lebellium Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You'll probably have to install the "GIGABYTE System Recovery Fix Tool" from the Gigabyte website. Support -> Downloads > Utility
     
  3. aw113sgte

    aw113sgte Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    That tool doesn't seem to exist for my laptop (aero classic XA). I tried the one for another aero with windows 1903 but it didn't change anything.
     
  4. lebellium

    lebellium Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No luck but I was kinda obliged to give you a generic answer. Did you read my complain here?
    *** OFFICIAL GIGABYTE AERO 15 OWNERS LOUNGE ***

    To be honest I don't know exactly what the Windows Media Creation Tool does, especially about disc partitions and formatting.
    Maybe it formatted your whole SSD, deleting the original hidden/recovery partitions?

    I suggest you provide a screenshot of your Windows computer/disc management so that it can be compared with another Aero 15 Classic owner.

    Attached is mine but as I have an "old" Aero 15v7 the comparison is not necessarily relevant.
    20190823_Aero15_lebellium_disc_management.PNG
     
  5. aw113sgte

    aw113sgte Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Mine looks identical to that. That's a big reason why it seems just some little thing changed and there should be a way to change it back.
     
  6. pqc533

    pqc533 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I could not boot my machine without uninstall the g.skill memeory stick from machine after I update the bios to FB08. Has anyone encounter same issue? My machine is aero 15x v8 with 1070 max-q.
     
  7. headkaze

    headkaze Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The latest is FB0A. You could try unlocking the BIOS to get a bunch of additional memory settings to play with.
     
  8. HermannnTheGerman

    HermannnTheGerman Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After so much issues with my Aero 15 v7, I claimed Gigabyte's 2 years warranty, requested an RMA and sent in my notebook. It was (just) still in warranty and they replaced the mainboard free of charge. Now the symptoms are gone.

    I want to add that in the meantime, Windows updated to 1903. Further I don't use the mini display port but HDMI for my external display. And last, I see "Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered." in system windows logs (event viewer) after every wakeup from hibernation. I guess this is the reason why resuming takes quite long (about 20 seconds).

    At least the system does not crash any more (so far).
     
  9. headkaze

    headkaze Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I suggest updating the BIOS to the latest (FB0A), update Windows 10 to 1903, install the latest Intel Management Engine and then use the Intel Driver & Support Assistant to check for any other Intel drivers that need updating.
     
  10. fackamato

    fackamato Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    For some reason my laptop won't POST anymore. I tried holding F9 and Insert and powering on, but no luck. Is there a reset BIOS trick? Disconnected the battery for some time but that didn't help.

    Edit: found the CMOS battery cable, that didn't help either. Sigh!
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2019
Loading...

Share This Page