Official Coffee Lake Refresh Thread/BIOS for ALL Clevo Laptops - RTX CARDS NOW SUPPORTED

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by DaMafiaGamer, Oct 25, 2018.

  1. Shreyas Shetty

    Shreyas Shetty Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    16
    BTW, thank you @joluke , i used your dremel cutting method rather than disassembling the laptop to use the spi programmer. it was risky but totally worth it!!!! 20mins two laptops cut carefully. now on installing BIOS at ease. not that i need to do it all the time, but since i screwed up one of the installations(the plug came off the socket), its easier now. Cheer man!!
     
    joluke likes this.
  2. matyee

    matyee Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    224
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    76
    For 751dm2 it works 100% as I have it.

    The 751dm2 used to have - when it was bought:
    - 15,6hz 60hz screen (do not remember the screen type) gsync
    - 1070gtx gsync
    - 6700k

    Now it has:
    - 9900 nonk
    - 2070rtx gsync
    - AUO 7.0 gsync screen

    The key I think to have the very same type of parts as the newer TM1 big brother has. As dsanke's mod is a TM1 mod, from gsync point of you will the same TM1 gsync model.

    For 775dm3 I did the same for 5 times, although I did not test with RTX, but I think it works with the very same way.
     
    electrosoft and Mr. Fox like this.
  3. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    8,833
    Messages:
    55,042
    Likes Received:
    16,081
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Ah yes, if your new BIOS has a valid combo from the TM that would make sense.
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  4. matyee

    matyee Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    224
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Exactly, I am quite positive if you pay attention to the parts, you will have gsync. E.g. I have tested 3 pieces 17,3 screens for the 775dm3 (AUO 3.1, 4.0, 4.1) after dsanke mod, and I just had gsync with the 3.1. For the 751dm2 I have tested AUO 7.0 and 7.1, and only 7.0 had gsync. So that's the key for the magic.

    The only interesting thing what I have figured out:
    For the 751dm2 the AUO 5.2 120hz panel has gsync, I guess, because the 751TM1 was launch with 120hz gsync panel, then the 144hz IPS took over its place. So both have gsync if you mod your older 751dm2. I know I tested.

    Important! You need to use the TM1 bios mod, not the DM3 microcode injection one!

    So the whole magic that you convert your dm2/dm3 to a TM1 model.

    BUT!

    For 775TM1 I do not recall that it was launched with ChiMei 120hz, but when I modded my 775dm3, and tested the chimei 120hz gsync came up :) For the record that 120hz gsync TN panel is crazy good for FPS, for my eye it is still the fastest panel for laptops and contrary that it is a TN panel, it has quite OK colors.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2020
    joluke likes this.
  5. joluke

    joluke Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    698
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Helps a lot to access the BIOS :D

    You're welcome my friend! Glad to help
     
    Shreyas Shetty and Papusan like this.
  6. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    8,833
    Messages:
    55,042
    Likes Received:
    16,081
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I'm still rocking the AUO B173QTN01.0.
     
  7. Shreyas Shetty

    Shreyas Shetty Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The BIOS chip is a 3.3V right not a 5V(1.8A)?
     
  8. matyee

    matyee Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    224
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    76
    "I have a secret trick. Count to four. Inhale. Count to four. Exhale.”

    I have sold one of my laptop and accepted a clevo 751dm2 set off in the price. The only reason why I did it to test a full upgrade mod on it, and check how it goes. Please find a brief sum up. All the hard work was supported my engineer friend, I was bringing the ideas bios, vbios etc, he was putting his very skilled engineering knowledge into the project, as usuall.

    The 751dm2 was originally assembled with 1070gtx, 60hz gsync IPS screen, some 6700k or 7700k the other parts are irrelevant. When I bought it, it had 1080gtx, an Igzo 4k screen (no gsync) and a 7700k.

    My aim was to upgrade to a TM1 with RTX card and some 6 or 8 core cpu. I have used first a dsanke DM version bios with 8/9 gen intel microcode with it. I had some hard time to make it work, as I have received black screen. After the bios debugger we managed to boot it right, so it was upgraded to the new gen cpus. I have put a 8600k into as a start. After that many sucking our came, as I had tons of bad parts, which made the story compliacted. To be honest I have learnt a very important lesson, do NOT change many parts in one sitting. Eventhouh all are OK, you never know in project like this, what makes the issues. First I bought a bad 9700, then a bought a bad 40 pin cable, then the AUO 7.0 was bad Of course all turned out later, when I tested one by one.

    After the cpu mod was successful I collected all necessary parts to do the mod. I have bought majority of the parts from clevo-computer, but their communication ws crazy... I am still struggling with them. They sent me 2 topcases, but for the second time I ordered a lid+bazel (just to have brand new), and they send another topcase. When I wrote to them, I have ordered 2 parts (lid + bazel), their reply was: "What do I mean under lid + bazel". Supercrazy....
    • I9 9900ES (4,2-4,4Ghz) – professional delid
    • Nvidia 2070RTX
    • AUO 156HAN0.7
    • 40 pin cable for 15,6 laptop (I had only for 17,3)
    • RTX heatsink
    • New topcase (the old has shinny trackpad)
    • Dsanke 1.07.24 RTX version bios
    Long story short, after using the upper parts, I ended up having a „TM1” machine. Gsync came back immediately, with RTX version bios nvida driver installed flawlessly, AUO 7.0 panel gsync worked like a charm (I have received first from a stupid seller a 7.1 version, gsync did not work...), and of course i9 9900 worked well.

    (I really do not want to go into the details, but I have never had so many problems buying parts like this time:
    1. bad cpu (9700)
    2. bad screen (first bad 7.0, then I received 7.1)
    3. topcase instead of lid+bazel
    4. bad 40 pin cable
    5. and some software stuff with the bios

    After some testing with AIDA (and help of Mr Fox – appreciated) with TS the cpu reaches max 82-83 degree and eats 93-95W, sometimes even 98W. Under gaming all cores sit around 70. The RTX on stock voltage (1,063V) is about low 60 degree.

    After this small experiment if you collect the necessary parts and bios/vbios you can easily upgrade your machine to the current types (dm2/dm3), and even with some trade-off, you can have 8C/16T cpu in your clevo. Not to forger this machine was launch in 2016 (if I am not mistaken).
     
    electrosoft and Mr. Fox like this.
  9. fricknbot

    fricknbot Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    anyone know where i'm able to buy an RTX 2060 or RTX 2070 MXM card for relatively cheap if not can someone tell me if this method will work for upgrading the graphics card (PCEI to MXM Adaptor) please let me know as this just seems easier and cheaper in the long run even if i have to buy a new screen, because the only upgrade kit i have found is from EUROCOM and costs around £560 ish for a RTX 2060 when you can buy a regular card for £200 - £300 so this makes alot of sense
     
  10. KLICHO

    KLICHO Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    31
    How to unlock all power in P775DM3G ? RTX bios I7 8700K and RTX 2080 Power limit 1 and 2 in bios set 350W VR 1023. CPU @ 4.7GHz but if I take 4.8GHz always drop to 4.3GHz, I run Throttlestop but this is not help. Now I have plug 2x330W PSU. RTX 2080 work in 100% drop cpu clock to 1750-1830MHz. What happend ?

    My 3DMark score

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/49661797

    Score At 5.0 GHZ
    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/49662612
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2020
Loading...

Share This Page