*OFFICIAL* Alienware "Graphics Amplifier" Owner's Lounge and Benchmark Thread (All 13, 15 and 17)

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Mr. Fox, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. ssj92

    ssj92 Neutron Star

    Reputations:
    2,406
    Messages:
    4,401
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Trophy Points:
    581
    On mine I had

    2080
    3070 (and 3090/ Titan Xp before that)
    iGPU

    I also have G-sync panel.

    You can either disable 2070 in device manager or go to windows settings, look for advanced graphics settings, add application and choose the 3060 for that application.
     
    Papusan and etern4l like this.
  2. Game7a1

    Game7a1 ?

    Reputations:
    529
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I ended up disabling the 2070 in device manager. Made the computer run much smoother and faster in the benchmarks I was running.
    All is running well on my end, and my i7-9750H can finally stretch its legs.
     
    Papusan likes this.
  3. Gumwars

    Gumwars Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    238
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    76
    You are going to take a hefty penalty running it through your laptop monitor. At least 10%, if not more. If you have an external display, I highly recommend using it. Otherwise, you are leaving a lot of performance on the table.
     
    etern4l and Vasudev like this.
  4. Game7a1

    Game7a1 ?

    Reputations:
    529
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I am running it through two external monitors. The reason I wanted an eGPU in the first place, outside of more performance, was so I can run my monitors at 1440p 144Hz instead of 1440p 120Hz.
    If I were to run it through the laptop screen itself, I might as well just stick with the 2070MQ.
     
    Gumwars, etern4l and Vasudev like this.
  5. Gumwars

    Gumwars Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    238
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Excellent. My apologies, from the post I replied to, it seemed that you were running the AGA back to the laptop display.
     
  6. jprovence

    jprovence Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    6
    SUCCESS!

    Finally got my hands on a great condition used AGA locally. I'm running a Area 51m 9900KF and also got my hands on an EVGA 3070. After doing a some display driver uninstaller and loading the Nvidia driver directly from Nvidia, the AGA sprung to life and has been hamming on games for a few days with zero hiccups. AWCC is running perfectly as well.

    All around, everything is working as intended and I'm really enjoying the system. I'm driving a AW3418DW.

    Don't see a ton of success threads here, so just sharing a combination that is working great and hammering out the games as designed. I'll probably stay with this combination for the next couple of years.
     
  7. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    233
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    401
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Where are you folks finding Cards? I mean, assuming your not paying inflated prices. My son's and my amplifiers sit dusty and unused.
     
  8. turbocat

    turbocat Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    31
    You on the telegram alert app? I found mine through there MSRP fairly easy

    Google search telegram fe partalert

    Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
     
  9. jprovence

    jprovence Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My brother wins the Newegg shuffle quite a bit. He’s sold them to people at MSRP.
     
  10. Pollen

    Pollen Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hey guys any idea why the RGB on my Asus 6800xt lc oc doesn't work? Does everyone elses RGB work on gpu when in the amp?

    Any advice Is appreciated.

    Here's a couple benchmarks one with Area 51m (normal firestrike) and another with 13 R3 7700hq (firestrike ultra). Was my first runs I've done much better since. Shocked how well the 7700hq works with the 6800xt.
     

    Attached Files:

    • FS.png
      FS.png
      File size:
      771.6 KB
      Views:
      20
    • fs2.png
      fs2.png
      File size:
      1.1 MB
      Views:
      19
Loading...

Share This Page