*OFFICIAL* Alienware "Graphics Amplifier" Owner's Lounge and Benchmark Thread (All 13, 15 and 17)

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Mr. Fox, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. CMDR Gurr

    CMDR Gurr Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have an Alienware m15 R3 that I’m trying to get working with my Alienware Graphics Amplifier (upgraded with a Corsair CX650M power supply) and an RTX 3080ti. My m15 R3 has an onboard RTX 2070 Super and Intel UHD 630 Graphics, 300Hz non-gsync display, and latest BIOS 1.8.0. I’m using the Nvidia 471.11 notebook driver.

    I’ve tried various things. After running DDU, installing 471.11 without AGA to get the 2070 Super running, rebooting to connect the AGA, I start out with the 2070 operational and the 3080 showing up as a “Microsoft basic display adapter” with a code 32. Then, I install the 471.11 again, and the 3080ti display fires up with a mirror of the laptop display for a couple of seconds during the driver install, and then the external screen freezes. After the install is complete, 3080ti shows up with a code 43 in device manager, and the 2070 is operational. After a reboot, it takes a few seconds of a black screen before the windows “device disconnected” sound , and after logging in, both the 3080ti and 2070 have a code 43. (Note: This is a m15 R3 with the 300Hz screen, so I don’t ever see the Intel adapter in device manager.)

    Once, with HackFlags set to 200, I was able to log in, both displays working, and I could see the 3080ti, 2070, and Intel listed as working in Device Manager. It lasted less than 30 seconds before the external display froze, and 3080ti and 2070 went back to code 43 in device manager. This often coincides with a crash and restart of dwm.exe (the desktop window manager) in the event viewer. I seem to get similar results without HackFlags, or with it set to 200, 400, or 600. Sometimes, I can get the external display working again for a few seconds by disabling the 3080ti and enabling it again in Device manager, but then it freezes again.

    I suspect that my specific hardware configuration on this model is something that’s still not handled correctly by Nvidia’s drivers. Other configurations that DO work:
    1. The AGA and RTX 3080 ti work fine with my older Alienware 15 laptop, which has on onboard GTX 970M and Intel HD Graphics 4600, with the 471.11 notebook driver and no tweaks, so I know the AGA and 3080ti and CX650M are working
    2. The Alienware m15 R3 works with the AGA with my old GTX 980ti installed and no HackFlags needed, so I don’t think there’s any total incompatibility between the m15 R3 and the AGA
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  2. Zonda

    Zonda Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I just bought the AGA and installed a 2060 in it. Connected it to my AW15R2. Used DDU to wipe the old drivers and installed the new ones. All other games are working fine except for CSGO. With the built-in 970m I used to get 150fps on 1080p. But with the 2060 it won't go above 70. Does any one have any ideas?
     
  3. Gumwars

    Gumwars Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    202
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Sounds like a framerate cap?

    EDIT: Also, are you using the internal screen or an external monitor?
     
  4. Game7a1

    Game7a1 ?

    Reputations:
    529
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I'm having trouble getting my AGA to work with my m15. My laptop doesn't want to detect it, and I've gone through multiple BIOS versions (as early as 2.0.4, the earliest my m15 is compatible with), and I have updated Command Center. Anyone have any suggestions? I was thinking the cable broke as it doesn't light up, but the AGA did work with my former 15 R3 back in December. Not sure what happened between then.
    EDIT: So the USB Hub of my AGA works, but it's not detecting the graphics card. I'm not sure how to fix that. It is an RX 6600 XT. Don't know if that is the problem.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2021
  5. Game7a1

    Game7a1 ?

    Reputations:
    529
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Still having trouble getting my m15 to detect the AGA. The alien head on the AGA also doesn't light up, and the BIOS doesn't detect a graphics card plugged into it as well.
     
  6. Gumwars

    Gumwars Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    202
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Do you have the older laptop still?
     
  7. Game7a1

    Game7a1 ?

    Reputations:
    529
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    No, I sold my 15 R3 a few months ago, so I can't test with another laptop.
     
  8. Gumwars

    Gumwars Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    202
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    76
    If you have HWInfo installed, try checking to see if your PCI bridge is detected. If it is detected, hook up the AGA and see what appears in the device manager, Nvidia control panel, and HWInfo. What we're trying to establish is whether or not this is an OS issue or a hardware problem. You might also want to get a Linux live USB ready to see what another OS makes of the problem.
     
    Papusan likes this.
  9. Game7a1

    Game7a1 ?

    Reputations:
    529
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I'm not sure where I am to find the PCI Bridge in HWInfo. The below is all I can find with the AGA detected (Port6 is the AGA's USB Hub).
    upload_2021-8-16_1-36-52.png
     
  10. Gumwars

    Gumwars Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    202
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I'm currently at work but when I get home I'll take a look at mine and see how it compares to your output.
     
Loading...

Share This Page