*OFFICIAL* Alienware "Graphics Amplifier" Owner's Lounge and Benchmark Thread (All 13, 15 and 17)

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Mr. Fox, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. illuMinniti

    illuMinniti Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    93
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Did you try a clean install of the AW Command Center?
    Did you try using DDU to fully remove the GPU drivers?

    My method of installing drivers and that seems to work perfectly for everyone else, is to install the Desktop GPU drivers. So if you haven't, do this :

    1. uninstall Alienware command center + restart.
    2. install alienware command center (restart if it asks).
    3. use DDU to fully remove GPU drivers + restart.
    4. install desktop RTX 2080 drivers.
    5. system Should work fine.
     
  2. adultishgambino

    adultishgambino Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried this, and still no external GPU appeared in the Device Manager and no output came from the external GPU either.
     
  3. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    32,272
    Messages:
    26,844
    Likes Received:
    49,567
    Trophy Points:
    931
    AGA (Alienware Graphic Amplifier) FAQ See AGA user's Guide and How to setup the AGA.

    See also the fun with Proprietary design. Can't beat stupidity. Proprietary design will always have it's awful drawbacks.
    upload_2020-10-17_19-0-17.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    Normimb, jc_denton and etern4l like this.
  4. illuMinniti

    illuMinniti Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    93
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Many games nowadays allow for selecting which GPU to use ingame. Does that do nothing in a case like this or is that one of the only workarounds?

    I have a m15 R1 and have used a 2080 in it. They are the same exact GPU, the 'XC' 'Black' are just different factory overclocks. I doubt flashing a XC BIOS on a black will suddenly make it work, I feel like there is more to this. The 970 also doesn't work, which leads me to believe it isn't Dell or Nvidias fault, but something faulty with the AGA or a user error. Whether that's the PCIE riser, PSU, or the cable being faulty.

    If you have a desktop PSU laying around that you can plug into that PCIE riser + 2080 and try connecting the AGA, it would rule out the PSU being a problem. That PSU is pretty cheap that comes with the AGA. Powering USB is easy. Powering a 200-300W GPU is not
     
  5. ssj92

    ssj92 Neutron Star

    Reputations:
    2,328
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    5,373
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Unfortunate that the RTX 3000 series wasn't plug n play with the AMP. I guess it will be interesting to see if AMD's new GPUs work or not.

    Anyone tried a TB3 based enclosure on their AW with RTX 3000 series?
     
    illuMinniti and etern4l like this.
  6. illuMinniti

    illuMinniti Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    93
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I would have messed around with it myself if I could get one. But at this point Nvidia might be feeling threatened by AMD and might release better 3070s/80s according to Moores Law is Dead, which makes very good sense. I ordered a 3080 from dell a few weeks ago, but the expected delivery date is January lol.

    Little unrelated to AGA, but does Zotac allow for repasting and keeping warranty? I saw on their FB they posted they allow it in 2019, but doesn't mean they still will in 2020/2021.
     
  7. kqmaverick

    kqmaverick Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    55
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I have seen info on the egpu site with someone on using a 3080 on a TB3 enclosure so they do work.
     
    etern4l likes this.
  8. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    32,272
    Messages:
    26,844
    Likes Received:
    49,567
    Trophy Points:
    931
    The beauty with proprietary design.
    upload_2020-10-28_22-57-13.png
    Downgrading bios?
     
    Normimb and etern4l like this.
  9. illuMinniti

    illuMinniti Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    93
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Well if this is the case then I guess I will be done supporting Dell. Was gonna see if I will extend my warranty before it ends but I guess there is no point since I can buy a new laptop with the cost. which doesn't have forced voltage locks and idiocy.
     
    Papusan and etern4l like this.
  10. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    32,272
    Messages:
    26,844
    Likes Received:
    49,567
    Trophy Points:
    931
Loading...

Share This Page