*OFFICIAL* Alienware "Graphics Amplifier" Owner's Lounge and Benchmark Thread (All 13, 15 and 17)

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Mr. Fox, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. Y.U.KILL.ME

    Y.U.KILL.ME Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks for replying. I know the AGA won't be able to deliver the full 1080ti performance .. I'm looking for the in general result between internal 1080 and external 1080ti
     
  2. cookinwitdiesel

    cookinwitdiesel Retired Bencher

    Reputations:
    4,343
    Messages:
    11,093
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    481
    It should be pretty much full 1080 Ti performance, PCIe 3.0 x4 is the same as PCIe 2.0 x8 which was never really a bottleneck for any GPUs
     
  3. rinneh

    rinneh Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    407
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    231
    The bottleneck is very minimal.
     
  4. Y.U.KILL.ME

    Y.U.KILL.ME Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    after some research, I came up with this:

    10% drop in gtx1080ti performance
    20% improvement over gtx1080
     
  5. rinneh

    rinneh Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    407
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    231
    If you use the internal ascreen. External is only a couple percent.
     
  6. ssj92

    ssj92 Neutron Star

    Reputations:
    1,146
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I ran a Titan X (Pascal) with very minimal performance loss on external screen.
     
  7. paulrs1975

    paulrs1975 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi all :)

    is there any way i could buy
    gpu for my dock and have it running in sli with the 1080 in my 17 r5?

    ty in advance :)
     
  8. rinneh

    rinneh Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    407
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Nope you cant
     
    paulrs1975 likes this.
  9. paulrs1975

    paulrs1975 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can anyone pls tell me what pins or power connections the amp has?

    do i have to buy a gpu with an 8 and 6 pin, or 2 X 8 pin?

    tyvm :)
     
  10. rinneh

    rinneh Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    407
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It has 2 6+2 ping connectors. So you can use pretty much all combinations up to max 2x 8pins.
     
Loading...

Share This Page