*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M R2 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Spartan@HIDevolution, May 9, 2020.

  1. A User

    A User Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Some Question’s about RAM options in the AW 51m r2 (the XMP 3200Mhz Version)

    Hello, could anyone offer a little advise about this subject?

    What is the best non-Dell RAM upgrade option for this XMP motherboard version?
    What clock settings and speeds can be best achieved?
    Once this XMP 3200Mhz mainboard version is bought, is it still possible to install slower RAM?
    Is it in fact better to install slower ram with better timings?
    If this is so, which RAM make and model works best with what results?

    Aplgys for the dumb questions here,

    Many thanks.
     
  2. kylera

    kylera Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    74
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Do you already have the first 51m?

    If you do, what is it lacking that makes an upgrade worthwhile for you? That too is a pretty powerful machine as it stands.
     
  3. A User

    A User Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello Kylera,

    No I do not. I currently have a GPU dead 6 year old Asus G series. ;(

    I was summing up some of the main comments I'd read on the forum for other people who are considering purchasing an r2.

    Along with further questions I'd like clearing up before I purchase one.

    One of those comments I had read was. 'It probably isn't worth upgrading if you already have an r1'.
     
  4. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    683
    Messages:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    181
    So new articles say the 3000 series will release in January for msi and asus laptops only, with dell and the others releasing in April. I wonder if dell will
    Make the 3000 series available to upgrade for the 51m R2. I know they would never want to do this for us but maybe, just maybe they will. I’d hate to have to sell my newer R2 and upgrade to the R3 just to get the 3070 or 3080.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
  5. etern4l

    etern4l Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,722
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,815
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Abandon all hope. They want you to fork out for a new laptop.
     
    DreDre and raz8020 like this.
  6. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    683
    Messages:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Terrible. I’m sick of selling new laptops every year for cheap prices and purchasing the next unit just for an upgrade. This time it will be even more worth it since the 3000 series will trounce the 2000 series we have in the R2
     
    raz8020 and etern4l like this.
  7. A User

    A User Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Isn't the eGPU port a viable option for that, for use at home anyway?
     
  8. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    683
    Messages:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I heard they aren’t working with the 3000 series
     
    etern4l likes this.
  9. etern4l

    etern4l Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,722
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,815
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Well, the more compelling the tech, the higher the chance people will cough up for an upgrade.
     
  10. etern4l

    etern4l Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,722
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,815
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Funny you should mention that, because it seems Dell thought about that and decided to cut support for 3000 series in the AGA, and actually EOL the product. No replacement is planned. Check out the AGA user's lounge.
    One could still use a TB3 eGPU, but that's apparently quite a bit less efficient, especially at FHD.
     
Loading...

Share This Page