*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M R1 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. uugui shi

    uugui shi Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    67
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Any advice on what AX/wifi 6 wireless card to get for the A51M R1?
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  2. Spartan@HIDevolution

    Spartan@HIDevolution Company Representative

    Reputations:
    31,822
    Messages:
    23,010
    Likes Received:
    35,567
    Trophy Points:
    931
  3. uugui shi

    uugui shi Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    67
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    56
  4. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    992
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    1,004
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Good news for you guys. BGA Nvidia Max P 30XX can't touch you.

     
    Papusan and Jontoad like this.
  5. nader_rizk2003

    nader_rizk2003 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    66
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hi, the modified vapor heatsink on ebay is useful? Thank you
     
  6. Fire Tiger

    Fire Tiger Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    4,761
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Trophy Points:
    181
    In the last 2-3 days when I boot up or restart, I get a long black screen before the login screen. When that eventually shows its unresponsive for a good 10-15 seconds before it lets me enter my pin. Anyone else had any issues?

    If I remove PIN/Password from my account it seems to work fine.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2021
    Spartan@HIDevolution likes this.
  7. Helifax

    Helifax Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    88
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    41
    This sounds like a "winlogon.exe" issue. If you have a backup of windows or a restore point, I would suggest reverting back. I had something like this a long time ago. (A windows update failed).
    Another thing you can try is to reinstall the GPU driver (maybe WDDM is the one responsible and affects the init of the Windows scheduler, etc).

    This is defo not a hardware issue, but an annoying software issue :(

    Cheers
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  8. etern4l

    etern4l Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    2,118
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    2,269
    Trophy Points:
    181
    This stuff never gets old..

     
    Papusan and Normimb like this.
  9. Timoonn

    Timoonn Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    24
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ho hai, i've got a question.

    I'm using 51m R1, 9900k 2*8gb rtx 2080 full stock, a replacement machine from a faulty 17r3, since august 2019. After one year of use, around august 2020 I have had a bsod and a diagnostic error related to one ram stick. Dell changed the ram stick with the different model/brand than the original one. Fixing the problem but leaving me with 2 different ram sticks.
    Instead of two 8gigs hynix, i have now one original hynix plus the replaced stick, an Micron.

    After the swap, Dell told me that it was temporary, and when the same stick as the original one is available again, they will change the "temporary micron one" by an hynix one.

    I revived my case in october 2020, support told me that the part is still not available.

    Before (original setup)
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Actual (1 original + 1 replaced stick)
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Considering that:
    - I havent had any problems with the 2 sticks from different brands since (no crash, no error, no noticeable performance lost).
    -The orignal ram stick is not produced anymore, soldeout everywhere ( hma81gs6jjr8n-vk ) so Dell is not going to have new ones I guess.
    -The computer support contract end the 6 of march 2021 (its the 17r3 orignal support from march 2016).

    Should I relaunch a support ticket? Or its not worth it?
    They cant swap the two sticks I guess ('cuz only one was faulty), or if they replace the Micron's one, it will still be with a potentialy different model from the hynix one (or a refurbished one).

    Dunno what to do.
    contact them and make it worse? or stick with my sticks as everything works

    Imagine in a few years, I want to upgrade the ram, is it risky to get 2 more 8g sticks? For a total of 4x8gigs, the Hynix original one, plus the replaced Micron stick, plus the two future new 8g sticks from whatever brand it is.
    Maybe ill go for brand new 4*16 gigs, or maybe i wont upgrade at all because i wont feel the need for it, 16gigs are fine for a long time.

    Thanks
     
  10. Docsteel

    Docsteel Vast Alien Conspiracy

    Reputations:
    737
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    863
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Memory is so cheap, and there is better, why not just get a full new set? Dell's is mediocre anyhow.

    EDIT: KHX2666C1554/16G is the memory I replaced with in my system, I run four sticks for 64 GB and it runs on the AW 51 R1 flawlessly (at 2400 though smh).
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2021
    DreDre, Papusan and Helifax like this.
Loading...

Share This Page