*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M R1 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,213
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    962
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Someone posted about this on Reddit a few days ago and they were also baffled by it.
     
  2. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    233
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    401
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Trying this now. Looks like last Dell GTX driver was may...
     
    Rei Fukai likes this.
  3. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    10,873
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    5,759
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Sounds like it's only happening while under 2D clocks.
     
    RMLJD likes this.
  4. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    233
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    401
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Thank you for this. Never used DDU before. Good tool!

    Now we wait to see if it comes back. This could be from the new drivers...I did up date them from the geforce experience app within the last few days....totally forgot.
     
  5. Tim V.

    Tim V. Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I started getting this with my 2060 after updating to the 451.xx and it continued after upgrading to 451.67. Hoping you find it goes away after you installed Dell's latest driver. Pretty sure it will go away, unless Win 2004 also has something to do with it. I usually stay a version back w/ nvidia drivers. Only reason I upgraded to the latest this time was to check out the HAGS and VFR in Windows 2004, which I ended up disabling anyway.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2020
    RMLJD likes this.
  6. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    233
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    401
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Way too early. But no artifacts yet...

    Played and hour of games to get temps up.

    Still no artifacts. Im cautiously optimistic.

    Thank you everyone..I was losing it over another tech vist.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2020
  7. etern4l

    etern4l Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    2,856
    Messages:
    3,436
    Likes Received:
    3,331
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Oddly enough, most BSODs and artefacts would occur in desktop for me too. For this to be a driver issue is extremely unlikely IMHO. Believe me, I wasted a lot of time following various reinstall tips ranging from drivers to whole system. A few hours of gaming is encouraging, but not a proof. A pad fit check/repaste is worth a shot, paying special attention to the GPU area. Is VRAM padded too?
     
    RMLJD likes this.
  8. Dbentt

    Dbentt Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    45
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Not that you'd want to do it forever, but did you try setting the global setting in nvcp to maximum performance? It sounds like your card was having trouble in low power states/2d rendering mode.
     
  9. Docsteel

    Docsteel Vast Alien Conspiracy

    Reputations:
    771
    Messages:
    2,146
    Likes Received:
    910
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Lucky you - don't look a gift-horse in the mouth ;)

    Certainly not benching, but I have had zero issues with in any FPS multi-player gaming. I mean, if you're going that route as a purist, you just turn all the settings down, play 1080p downscaled, and yeah, I can see that... not that hardcore :)

    I think a truly good player would succeed nearly the same with it on or off to be frank except in corner-cases.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2020
  10. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    10,873
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    5,759
    Trophy Points:
    581
    I don't play much competitive these days, but I always keep my FPS titles tuned for constant 142fps at 144Hz. Perhaps it's just a habit at this point, but with G-Sync it just feels off for me, as the panel is already at ~9ms at 144Hz, so having high frames and removing as much latency with pre-rendered frames=1, is a must for when it comes to consistency.
     
    Rei Fukai, Papusan and etern4l like this.
Loading...

Share This Page