*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M R1 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    9,770
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    5,198
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Looks like a good way to keep them honest, anyone who feels they were had should consider sharing their experience with the firm to hold them accountable.
     
  2. ijozic

    ijozic Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    117
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I can understand the sentiment. They did advertise the upgrades (though they did use some disclaimer of the "if possible" kind, IIRC) even though they're aware that Intel requires a new socket for every gen basically (even though the base CPU architecture is pretty much the same for the last five generations - thieves).

    Not sure if they new what Nvidia plans were, but I presume the Super cards are not compatible with R1's due to increased power requirements.

    I know I'd feel somewhat cheated if I bought one, but given how they are the only ones with a viable external graphics solution, it's not so bad. And the socketed CPU and Graphics are always useful for a cheaper repair if a mobo or the GPU die. It's not like the new CPU's are much of an improvement anyway.
     
    DreDre likes this.
  3. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,648
    Messages:
    27,232
    Likes Received:
    50,720
    Trophy Points:
    931
    They have a good case regarding upggrade promises for 1th gen hardware (confirmed by Umar Khan). Dell can't deny upgrade to 9900KS. They also have to offer XMP support for 1th gen Area-51m. Not so sure they will be held accountable for 10th gen upgrade paths.

    https://twitter.com/aw_umar/status/1214950201183617025?s=20
    upload_2020-6-12_0-24-12.png
    https://twitter.com/aw_umar/status/1256591867027894272?s=20

    The question about the upgrade path for DGFF graphics will be more delicate.
    upload_2020-6-12_0-32-22.png
    https://twitter.com/aw_umar/status/1260624706090270725?s=20
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2020
    jclausius, raz8020, Rei Fukai and 5 others like this.
  4. Lopt

    Lopt Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    496
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I went ahead and sent them a long email explaining, my experience with my first Alienware product, the good and the not so good, for whatever its worth.

    The law Office responded back to me already with request for more info and emailed copies of paperwork from Dell / Alienware.

    I will update as things progress.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2020
  5. DreDre

    DreDre Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    140
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Do you have a undervolt applied?
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  6. DreDre

    DreDre Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    140
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Yeah they can always say they provided an upgrade with the Graphics Amplifier. For those of us with the RtX 2080 that does not make much sense. Far as the 9900k they should have at least supported a 9900ks. I'm still thinking of getting a delidded 9900kS and putting it in my Area-51m so I can better run 5 ghz on all cores cooler and more consistently if I wanted.
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  7. Docsteel

    Docsteel Vast Alien Conspiracy

    Reputations:
    719
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    847
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I would make sure the camera works, speakers, etc. Panel replacements are the thing that makes me the most nervous thankfully not having had to do one, but i have heard more issues around that than anything else over the years.
     
  8. Docsteel

    Docsteel Vast Alien Conspiracy

    Reputations:
    719
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    847
    Trophy Points:
    131
    If they had actually allowed it to drive the internal screen, I would agree. It's infuriating to not have that, my other two AGA compatible AW's do with no problem.
     
    DreDre likes this.
  9. Normimb

    Normimb Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    716
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    517
    Trophy Points:
    106
    yes throttleStop: -135 core and -120 cache (stable) i could go higher but it becomes unstable in TS benchmark.
     
    DreDre likes this.
  10. Korben_Dallas

    Korben_Dallas Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    89
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Always set the same offset for the core and cache
     
    Normimb and Biker Gremling like this.
Loading...

Share This Page