*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M R1 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. XxAcidSnowxX

    XxAcidSnowxX Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    68
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    183
    Trophy Points:
    56
    some sneaky firmware updated itself this morning, can't figure out what it is??, certainly wasn't BIOS, I just checked and its still on 1.5.0
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Spartan@HIDevolution

    Spartan@HIDevolution Company Representative

    Reputations:
    31,206
    Messages:
    22,924
    Likes Received:
    35,397
    Trophy Points:
    931
    yeah ignore it, it's nothing.

    If your BIOS was older, then when you reboot you will see it updating the BIOS automatically like a VIRUS
     
  3. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,616
    Messages:
    27,207
    Likes Received:
    50,679
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Most likely firmware for ssd. Dell prefer push out firmware via Win Update. A Ticking Bomb because firmware flashing can go wrong. Always have backup of everything you care about.
    [​IMG]
    Remember the flawed firmware for Samsung Pro? Fun when it happens and you haven't done your backup:D Or get lower performance vs. before. Yeah, ignore it:biggrin:
     
    jclausius, Mr. Fox, jc_denton and 2 others like this.
  4. Muyfa666

    Muyfa666 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    132
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I haven't played on my 51M for quite some time now. No real issues with it anymore, but I've grown tired of it, I'll see if I can sell it and may I'll build a gaming rig in small form factor.
     
    HaloGod2012 likes this.
  5. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    683
    Messages:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Why are you tired of it?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. S.K

    S.K Batch 80286

    Reputations:
    543
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Did you disable hardware related windows updates and driver updates? Do that before you allow any updates to be installed in your system. That should take care of this annoyance.
     
    DreDre and jclausius like this.
  7. Vanya

    Vanya Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Hi,

    I disabled this.

    [​IMG]

    However, in the lastest Windows build, there is only Yes or No. The "never install driver software from WU'" option isn't here anymore, and I'm not sure to what extent it changes regarding BIOS updates through WU.

    I finally managed to force downgrade the BIOS by checking this to No and I also re flashed the 1.5.0 over a first BIOS flash via USB. Not sure what made Windows stopped force updating...

    Is your "hardware related windows updates" option something else than the option I attached here ?
     
    jclausius and YD Corp like this.
  8. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    34,877
    Messages:
    37,332
    Likes Received:
    62,972
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Applying any firmware update from Dell/Alienware is a massive risk that carries an abnormally high chance of impairing performance or damaging a system that is otherwise functioning properly. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" applies more to their products than any brand I have seen before. If it ain't already broke, there's a really good chance that it might be after you update a Dell computer's firmware. Using proprietary firmware on SSDs and HDDs that basically ruins them compared to the otherwise identical generic consumer equivalent is beyond stupid... it's unethical. And, there's no excuse for that.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2019
  9. S.K

    S.K Batch 80286

    Reputations:
    543
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Yes this is it. As long as you keep this disabled, there shouldn't be any problem.
     
    jclausius likes this.
  10. bmad786

    bmad786 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Pointless experiment alert! Anyway I'm building a pc for a friend. So I thought I'd test his nice new 2080ti in my graphics amplifier I've never opened from years ago. My 51m has a 2080 in it and 9700k. I had limited time so only ran the test once. The CPU is not overclocked and the 2080ti is stock albeit a fancy evga XC variant. Hopefully the results are posted correctly at the bottom of this. Honestly I wasn't expecting a huge difference but I'm well impressed with the amplifier. It's not a million miles off a 2080ti in a full on desktop. The laptop runs much quieter too obviously not now cooling the GPU. Bit of a shame the 2080ti are so bloody expensive still otherwise I'd be tempted.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2019
Loading...

Share This Page