*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M R1 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. SacraficeMyGoat

    SacraficeMyGoat Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Ah okay. Do you have you put the backups on their own partition or a seperate drive?

    I'm a noob when it comes to backing up windows, as I usually just reinstall.
     
  2. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    683
    Messages:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Anyone notice the fans randomly spinning up real quickly on the latest bios? Happens during dead idle moments, just a quick rpm jump and back down to silent. Temps don’t jump either.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Pudge

    Pudge Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi guys, I am new here, but ordered today two 51m (Delidded 9900K/2080) from HID. Read here, that some machines having issues with gpu failure, but I hope mine will be ok. Will do post about my impressions once I get the laptops.
     
    VoodooChild likes this.
  4. XxAcidSnowxX

    XxAcidSnowxX Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    68
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    183
    Trophy Points:
    56
    No
     
  5. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    519
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Congrats on your purchase and welcome to the club! GPU dying have been pretty random, some people here used it since launch and haven't had a single issue.
    Keep us posted.

    Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
    Pudge likes this.
  6. Darkhan

    Darkhan Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    964
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    702
    Trophy Points:
    131
    You will want to place it on a seperate drive, You can get a TB3 or USBC External drive. Or just get a decent 2.5 SSD and place in your 2.5 slot this is what I did I placed a Samsung PM883 7.6 TB for backups. I would suggest getting at least the size of your main drive or raid size?
     
    SacraficeMyGoat likes this.
  7. SacraficeMyGoat

    SacraficeMyGoat Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Okay, thanks.

    I replaced the 1TB SSHD with my 1TB MX500 2.5" for storage/games.

    Would it be okay to create a partition on that drive for a backup?

    I also have a 1TB external HDD I could use. Would creating a backup on either erase the contents of the drive?
     
  8. Darkhan

    Darkhan Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    964
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    702
    Trophy Points:
    131
    You can backup to either of those as long as you have space available and yes create a folder like a51backup and make sure to select that folder when you chose location to backup to. Note that the external HDD will take much longer to backup to and also slower to reload when/if needed?
     
    SacraficeMyGoat likes this.
  9. warcobra

    warcobra Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You have a Samsung PM883 7.6TB?!? Dang man that is one expensive drive haha. I mean I have lots of SSD's between my laptops and desktops that add up to that high and more but in one drive dang. How long have you had that beast ssd?
     
    Darkhan and SacraficeMyGoat like this.
  10. SacraficeMyGoat

    SacraficeMyGoat Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Alright thanks, and excuse my ignorance. It's about time I start backing things up and not just clean install every time.

    I'll probably set it up on my 1TB MX500 then. Do I need to create a new partition on it, or just make a folder? The whole drive is just a single partition at the moment.
     
    Darkhan likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page