*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    667
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    Trophy Points:
    181
    The replacement shipped !!!! And the fact that it shows as fedex ground tells me it’s coming from somewhere in the US. I wasn’t aware we built these here.

    Update: fedex shows delivery by Tuesday. So they got me a replacement in about 11 days. Awesome!


    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
  2. S.K

    S.K Batch 80286

    Reputations:
    366
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Is there a way to downgrade bios on this laptop to an older version? I tried the "bootable USB version but it seems that freedos doesn't boot on this computer as the USB never shows up.
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  3. Fire Tiger

    Fire Tiger Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,664
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    628
    Trophy Points:
    106
    I think Dell have put something in place to prevent BIOS downgrades. I'm sure @Papusan quoted it in this thread earlier.
     
  4. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    25,088
    Messages:
    24,597
    Likes Received:
    43,313
    Trophy Points:
    931
    The normal way Dell do it if the firmware come with major changes...
    "There will be some occasions when the BIOS downgrade will not be allowed due to BIOS dependency, meaning the current BIOS has changes that cannot be downgraded."
    Lets say Dell know some power settings in older firmware will burn down your hardware. Or they will Stop you from fixing <crippling (intended) changes> as Dell did with graphics temp target on their Dell XPS models.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    Fire Tiger, raz8020 and Rei Fukai like this.
  5. S.K

    S.K Batch 80286

    Reputations:
    366
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Version 1.5.0 Bios is causing wifi adapter to give bsod anytime the cpu is overclocked to 5 GHz on all cores. I'm considering swapping the wifi card with another one that I have lying around and see if the crashes stop.
     
  6. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    519
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Can someone else with a 9900k confirm this?

    Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
     
  7. nkc

    nkc Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    129
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    56
    no issues here, 5.0 all cores, avx 2, 1.2v and -120mv offset
     
    VoodooChild likes this.
  8. VoodooChild

    VoodooChild Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    519
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Forgive my noob question but what it avx 2 and how did you set the voltage to 1.2? Made it static in Throttlestop?

    Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
     
  9. nkc

    nkc Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    129
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Avx Summary From Web ; AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset: This setting reduces CPU core frequencies by the applied value when an AVX workload is run. The thermal output of AVX workloads is an order of magnitude higher than for non-AVX workloads, which is why this setting has been introduced.

    Going by this when Avx workloads occur say in games like AC Odyssey or anywhere in system as it happens on the fly, system drops from 5 to 4.8ghz all cores, since the heat generated is more than non avx loads that run on 5ghz without issues, also the voltage required for avx is always more than that required for 5ghz non avx loads .

    i use XTU, set volt to 1.2v adaptive and -120mv for undervolting, all cores 5 and avx 2 for 4.8 when needed, my chip can do 5.1 and 4.9 avx but we dont wanna fry eggs yet, its already crushing my desktop as is, so am good, Max Temp Gaming 85c, looking for 80

    GPU dropped to 1v 1905mhz, max temp 70c, no mem overclock yet, over the weekend, will do a test for that, taking it slow, so that before it explodes i would have enjoyed it well .....lol
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    Spartan and VoodooChild like this.
  10. LoneSyndal

    LoneSyndal Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    324
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    514
    Trophy Points:
    106
    I would like to add that I am not having issues overclocking to and above 5GHz with my wifi on. I have been using 1.5.0 as soon as it released.

    @S.K Try reflashing?
     
Loading...

Share This Page