*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. Spartan

    Spartan Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    23,071
    Messages:
    21,071
    Likes Received:
    31,164
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Can you not run a game and have MSI Afterburner with Riva Statistics to see how much wattage is the GPU pulling?
     
  2. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    667
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Yes the max I’m pulling is 189, so I’m not sure which I have


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Johnksss

    Johnksss .

    Reputations:
    10,667
    Messages:
    19,052
    Likes Received:
    11,568
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Interesting. Thanks for the explanation.
    Although this would not be for a permanent situation only to see if it would recognize it from 1 psu on 2 ports or 2 psu's already wired for a single use port, but reverted back in to a dual port scenario. The dual psu is wired through a rectifier with heat sink. So your saying I would need to add this schottky diode where in that line? And would I still need one for a single psu test?
     
    Papusan likes this.
  4. Spartan

    Spartan Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    23,071
    Messages:
    21,071
    Likes Received:
    31,164
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Then it means you have the stock 190W VBIOS.
     
  5. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    667
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Oh I didn’t know they had a 190w, thought it was just 180 or 200.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    ThatOldGuy likes this.
  6. Nyceis

    Nyceis Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    290
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Where is this update is what I'd like to know....

    I got my 51m yesterday from HID and I'm terrified to use it too much because I'd really like to know the issue is resolved....

    Update. On the 200W BIOS as it pulled 197W during 3dmark. Come on Alienware put this update out.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2019
    Spartan likes this.
  7. Spartan

    Spartan Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    23,071
    Messages:
    21,071
    Likes Received:
    31,164
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I didn't know they had a 180W. As far as I know, the default VBIOS was 190W then Dell gave us a little update to 200W, never saw a 180W variant.

    But it's better/safer that you're on the 190W VBIOS for now.
     
    hmscott likes this.
  8. ssj92

    ssj92 Neutron Star

    Reputations:
    2,036
    Messages:
    3,974
    Likes Received:
    4,916
    Trophy Points:
    331
    180W was the original plan. They raised it to 190W for release then increased to 200W.
     
    steberg, raz8020, Spartan and 2 others like this.
  9. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    667
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Weird, when they unveiled the 51m they all said they have the 180w 2080 in this. Either way happy to know I’m not on the 200w


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    hmscott likes this.
  10. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    667
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Ahh got it


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
Loading...

Share This Page