*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. HaloGod2012

    HaloGod2012 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    657
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Trophy Points:
    181
    On bios 1.7.2 and new 2070 vbios. Same overclocks and I hit 23K GPU score in firestrike, which is close to many manufacturers stock 2080 GPU scores, lol. I couldn’t hit 23K before so maybe the vbios helped
     
    SacraficeMyGoat and _deadbydawn_ like this.
  2. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    20
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually what has happened. Faster today then last night for sure

    Anything I need to do to the M2 prior to cloning? Its bootable as is..

    Thank you for your help again...
     
  3. Virale

    Virale Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Nothing special that you need to do with the M2 NVME drive. If it’s Samsung (which I think it was?) just ensure that you’re working with it with the Samsung NVME driver. It’s under storage controllers in Device Manager. Once you’re sure it’s being controlled by Samsung’s driver, you’re ready to do the cloning. At this point, open Macrium Reflect and clone your Hybrid drive to your NVME.

    My NVME was the same size as my Hybrid, so I didn’t move any partitions around. If your NVME is larger, I would suggest that you put the Windows partition all the way to the right or to the left, this will allow you to extend the partition normally, without having to convert it to a dynamic disk. Let me know if that made sense.

    Clone away!!! Then follow the instructions from one of my previous posts.
     
    RMLJD likes this.
  4. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,081
    Messages:
    23,764
    Likes Received:
    41,310
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Have you checked max Gpu power consumption (Hwinfo) from your 2070? If you have old screenshoots... Compare them.
     
  5. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    20
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its an EVO plus (500 g ) so half the size of the hybrid.

    I'm installing magician and the driver as I type.
     
  6. Virale

    Virale Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Ok cool! So you will have to clone your hybrid's partitions exactly the same to the NVME, with the exception of the Windows partition. It will have to be made smaller so it fits. Select all other partitions to clone first, and select the Windows OS partition last and make it as large as you can (with whatever space is left).

    Keep me updated!
     
  7. RMLJD

    RMLJD Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    20
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Confirmed the samsung driver is installed with magician and device manager.

    For macrium do I use "clone" or "image"?
     
  8. Virale

    Virale Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Clone! You will select all the partitions to clone them, the only thing That will be different is that you will have to reduce the size of the OS partition to fit, so select this one last (since your NVME is smaller).
     
  9. SacraficeMyGoat

    SacraficeMyGoat Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    57
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Going to try the new vbios right now as well. Do you use the slider to OC or the graph?

    So far I've seen a max of 133W with the new vbios, unfortunately I'm not sure what the max before the vbios was.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2019
  10. Tim V.

    Tim V. Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    26
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I might have gone with the HP Omen, but they were not using nvidia RTX graphics when I was shopping. I'm replying to this post on a ten year old 17.3 HP entertainment laptop.

    -----

     
    DaMafiaGamer likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page