*OFFICIAL* Alienware Area-51M Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ssj92, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. FrozenSolid

    FrozenSolid Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    392
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Yeah I know. I'm just lazy. :)
     
  2. mason2smart

    mason2smart Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    232
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    1,353
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Arent we all! :p thats why they keep making those command centers
     
  3. doofus99

    doofus99 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    255
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    76
    This.
     
  4. doofus99

    doofus99 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    255
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I wonder how they'd stop it. An easy test is can you swap around the DC connectors at the back, or are they made in a way that the 180W and 330W go into a specific slot each?
     
  5. doofus99

    doofus99 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    255
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    490
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I was told it was the G-sync which requires direct connection to the panel and therefore prevents the Intel GPU from being used.
     
    raz8020 likes this.
  6. QUICKSORT

    QUICKSORT Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    196
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Just placed my 2nd order after 1st one was canceled. Though now at least on the order it actually says RTX 2080 instead of GTX 1080 with free upgrade.
    Again my order:
    - i7 9700K
    - Win 10 Pro
    - RTX 2080
    - Lunar Light
    - FHD 144hz + G-Sync + Tobii
    - 32GB Ram
    - 256 GB SSD (will upgrade this myself to 1TB sasmung 970 pro)
    - Also added the 1 year accidental damage as it was cheap (20€)

    Total paid: € 2938.34 (without taxes, as it is a business purchase)
    My previous canceled order, which was the exact same configuration, was something a little more expensive then € 2600. When I initially saw that price I expected it was a mistake, and I was also prepared to pay more for that laptop to begin with. So for me nothing changed really.
    Too bad there is no sales rep in my country that can help me with discounts. Oh well.
     
    Woodking likes this.
  7. Woodking

    Woodking Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    70
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    76
    The upgrade from Home to Pro on the Dell UK configurator is £7.20 so it works out a worthy choice IMO, meaning future reinstalls go without a hitch.

    I've heard of these grey market keys failing when reinstalling the OS or making any hardware changes to the machines, so feel they are a risky choice. For less than a tenner to have the Pro version its a no brainer to me - especially remote desktop and ability to stop forced updates!

    @Halewafa is it $50 for the white version on the US site, as on the UK configurator it is a no cost option? That's odd from Dell.
     
    Fire Tiger and mason2smart like this.
  8. mason2smart

    mason2smart Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    232
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    1,353
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  9. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,446
    Messages:
    23,929
    Likes Received:
    41,608
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Remember Dell's firmware will recognize which power adapter which is in use. And I’m sure it doesn't matter which socket of the two you use. A simple code string in firmware can easily stop use of modified psu.
    And 330w is max adapter size Dell offer for now.

    Edit. For the records... I think Dell’s Hybrid Power design will add in some extra power if needed if you use the smaller power adapter. Up to a certain level before the power cap kicks in to save the battery from running into fire.

    Maybe bro @Falkentyne can give you some more info on how *proper* Battery Boost features works.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  10. severous

    severous Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi
    Is it a great deal to select RAID0 SSD 512 (2X256go?) Not too risk?
    With my config, and with a dell coupon, this option costs me only 100euros more, and 500Go cost nearly 130Euro in the market.
    At first i wanted to buy 1to NVME on market (250euros) but with the price augmentation of AREA 51m, raid 0 512go should be a great deal.
    What do you think?
     
Loading...

Share This Page