*OFFICIAL* Alienware 15 R3 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by katalin_2003, Oct 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. juliant

    juliant Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,015
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    66
    A small update. The fans are now soldered on the heatsink and in order to thermal paste the cpu / gpu you have to take the motherboard out of the system, unplug the fans and then remove the 7 screws, thermal paste and voila... :)
     
  2. Retsehc

    Retsehc Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmscott and SimplyJ3sse like this.
  3. zeroibis

    zeroibis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I assume this means there will be an update to the repaste thread in a few days?

    Wait so what does this change, looking at the repaste thread the fans are attached to the heatsink there... has something changed since the kaby lake update. I am confused now.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  4. SimplyJ3sse

    SimplyJ3sse Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I believe that all 1070 models have had soldered fans. Before and after kaby lake.

    Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
     
  5. SimplyJ3sse

    SimplyJ3sse Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    41
    No prob! Haha. :D

    Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
     
  6. el_pitaya

    el_pitaya Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    29
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thanks, the order was placed december 14th, I am assuming it have the updated thermals, also the fans are really quiet until gaming is in use, haven´t tested battery life also, just plugged it in and started gaming out of the box.

    I am really happy with this machine, I will keep updating you guys with anything
     
  7. MSGaldenzi

    MSGaldenzi Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    109
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Questions:
    Is anyone else having issues with the IR camera?
    Is anyone else experiencing wifi that goes out periodically?
    Is the 4k screen known to be on the extremely cool side? The one I got is extremely blue and looks pretty bad next to even my toshiba 4k (radius 12)
     
  8. Retsehc

    Retsehc Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is there a way to permanently boot from the new clone? Right now it makes me hit F12 to select the new drive. Is it as easy as wiping the old drive and Win 10 booting from OCZ automatically?
     
  9. SimplyJ3sse

    SimplyJ3sse Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Should be. That will make out the only Windows installation then, which should force it to boot that.

    Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
     
  10. Corwin2000

    Corwin2000 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I solved this by unplugging existing drive and booting once into the system. Then it will always boot from new drive even if you keep system on old one.
     
    Retsehc likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page