*OFFICIAL* Alienware 13 R3 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by katalin_2003, Oct 24, 2016.

  1. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    615
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    894
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Confusing isn't it?

    I always check and follow the release date. A year ago I re-flashed Bios thinking a new one is out:D. I think if DELL changes anything in the description, it shows as new fresh driver.

    1esgq3.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
    Pazzazuu, propeldragon and Vasudev like this.
  2. cn555ic

    cn555ic Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    137
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    76
    If it ain’t broke no need to fix it or install new drivers.
     
  3. Marksman30k

    Marksman30k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    2,080
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    178
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Just got a new NUC for work, i7-8559U. I was super curious about the EDRAM so I benchmarked it. NUC.jpg

    Dat EDRAM lol, this thing is competitive with my overclocked desktop DDR4 for bandwidth lol, it still can't compete on latency but dayummm.
     
    c69k and Vasudev like this.
  4. Pazzazuu

    Pazzazuu Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    41
    It is confusing! Drivers have become confusing lately. Im trying to get my head around DCH and how to get the new intel gfx. I might be asking for help soon.

    Wasnt like this when we had DOS.
     
    c69k likes this.
  5. cn555ic

    cn555ic Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    137
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    76
    If it ain’t broke don’t need to fix it.
     
    c69k likes this.
  6. Fleischhaus

    Fleischhaus Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So I might have figured out what's keeping the Alienware Sound Center from working (without which the speakers sounds abysmal!!!)
    I have tried to install the Realtek driver from the Alienware support site several times now, and even though it shows in the Apps tab, in device manager I get a completely different driver number.
    Why is this? How do I get Sound Center to work again? I miss the olden days of full-ish sound.... :|

    Realtek.jpg
     
  7. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    615
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    894
    Trophy Points:
    131
    @Fleischhaus

    If you still have problems with the driver...

    Uninstall (DDU) all sound driver stuff, and then install the Dell one. If this does not work, try 'have disk' in device manager method after unpacking the Dell driver.

    Edit: You can also uninstall the sound driver through device manager and tick 'remove software', then install the Dell driver.

    I agree, without the blue Dell sound enhancer, the sound is terrible.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
  8. Kuro Kensei

    Kuro Kensei Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    115
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hey Guys,

    Was there ever a proper fix to the stuttering/lagging issue while scrolling browser pages, in games, etc. I know it was to do with the OLED screen and IGP passthrough, but did Dell offer a fix???
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2019
  9. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    6,525
    Messages:
    10,069
    Likes Received:
    7,370
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Yes, it been there for 3 months. Nuke nvidia drivers using DDU and standard uninstall procedure for Intel drivers. Install DCH drivers and then nvi drivers.
     
    Kuro Kensei and c69k like this.
  10. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    615
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    894
    Trophy Points:
    131
    After disabling like 50 processes, I cannot believe what snappiness I see. Now, is it normal that my processor runs higher frequency because of that in IDLE?

    https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/windows10debloater.html

    In TS I see basically core 1 running at C0% 15, and the rest hangs around 0.1- 0.5.

    SO I freed some cores, but one core now handles almost all desktop load?
     
    Vasudev likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page