*OFFICIAL* Alienware 13 R3 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by katalin_2003, Oct 24, 2016.

  1. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    704
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    919
    Trophy Points:
    131
    This was 10 days ago LOL

    Has the memory arrived? Please give some info if you feel like it.

    Interesting video:

     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
    propeldragon and Vasudev like this.
  2. jordan114725

    jordan114725 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is the RAM easily replaceable? I didn't realize you could change the RAM on a laptop.

    Also how are people changing the voltage on the dGPU? In after burner all my voltage controls and even the voltage monitor does not function.
     
  3. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    704
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    919
    Trophy Points:
    131
    RAM in laptop is very easily replaceable. Take back cover off, swap RAM, 3 minutes job including making coffee.

    dGPU (meant Intel GPU ... :notworthy:) voltage can be changed by program Throttlestop. Please note that 'Intel GPU' and 'iGPU unslice' values must be the same for the iGPU final voltage to apply correctly.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
    Vasudev likes this.
  4. jordan114725

    jordan114725 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's for the intel gpu and not nvidia right? What about nvidia?
     
  5. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    704
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    919
    Trophy Points:
    131
    My apologies, I misread your post.

    In MSI afterburner open you have to press CTRL + F to bring up Voltage/Frequency curve editor.
    It is possible to unlock voltage monitoring in main skin of MSI Afterburner, just Google it. However, moving the slider has no effect on actual voltage.

    Capture.PNG
     
    propeldragon and Vasudev like this.
  6. jordan114725

    jordan114725 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It seems to be somewhat working, but I have it set to 1721mhz and the clock doesn't consistently stay there. It seems to jump around or be quite a bit under 1721 even at 800mW. Both attached screenshots are under 99% GPU load so it should be using the maximum clock speed that I gave it right?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    704
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    919
    Trophy Points:
    131
    @jordan114725

    Thanx for pictures.

    I see your screenshots above and temperatures of above 80C. Mine are always under 70C, more like 62-63C in any heavy GPU game, except for AIDA64 fpu + GPU(s) test where my temps reach 74-80C on both.

    Alienware 13 R3 GPU down-clocks by 13 Mhz every few degrees above 70 C to stay cool. That is just Nvidia.

    What you can do to keep temps in check (under 70C) is cap every game to 60 fps, raise back of your laptop, turn on CPU or fan performance mode ON in Bios, so the fans will keep everything cooler, or use HWiNFO64 to cap fans to, say 5000 RPM, next you can re-pad and re-paste, under-volting CPU and its temperature has HUGE impact on GPU temperatures = shared heat-sink. Some things I wrote are maybe too basic for you.

    What program did you run above to stress the GPU?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
    propeldragon likes this.
  8. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,503
    Messages:
    23,967
    Likes Received:
    41,669
    Trophy Points:
    931
    You need to be in the "below 38C range. Anything above that you start losing 13mhz at each stage.
     
    Ashtrix likes this.
  9. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    7,380
    Messages:
    10,411
    Likes Received:
    7,676
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Only you can achieve that. So there's no way for vbios hack to get around it?
     
  10. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,503
    Messages:
    23,967
    Likes Received:
    41,669
    Trophy Points:
    931
    How can a vBios hack decrease gpu temp?:rolleyes: Better cooling, bruh. Just make the gaming books thicker and add in bigger and better heatsink, fans, pipes and grills.
     
Loading...

Share This Page