*OFFICIAL* Alienware 13 R1/R2 Owner's Lounge

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Mr. Fox, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. propeldragon

    propeldragon Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    122
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Just around the border? Hard to tell on my phone.
     
  2. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Trophy Points:
    181
    @propeldragon thanx for answering. This thread is full of busy and happy OLED people, obviously lol

    No. The outside 5mm border is from making the screenshot with Sniping tool.

    It is possible that only I can see the vertical (20-30 mm) stripes as the picture is one perfect solid grey color and stripes can not be (maybe) seen on another monitor. I would have to take a picture with camera.

    Simply, if you can produce similar grey colored and solid, say, desktop background on your OLED and if you see some darker and lighter stripes, then you might reproduce it better.

    To say at least ... this 'problem' does not bother me as it is only with this shade of solid grey when I see the slight shift in colors.

    EDIT. I took a picture (of the gray picture showing vertical stripes) with phone camera, so the stripes can be 100% seen on any monitor now.
    rsz_img_20181121_022721.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018
    Vasudev and propeldragon like this.
  3. propeldragon

    propeldragon Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    122
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I can see it. It almost looks like its even vertical lines. That's odd.
     
  4. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    10,271
    Messages:
    10,981
    Likes Received:
    8,348
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Did you try playing with aspect ratio on intel gfx settings? I think you should use Scale full screen for all apps under Display section.
     
    c69k likes this.
  5. tom_mai78101

    tom_mai78101 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    35
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I can now confirm my Alienware 13 R1 from late 2014 can run games with an RTX 2070 card. I don't know what to do with this newfound power.
     
    c69k likes this.
  6. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Trophy Points:
    181
    RTX (I really mean raytracing reflections) on OLED must really look awesome.
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  7. tom_mai78101

    tom_mai78101 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    35
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    31
    No, I don't have OLEDs. I had the cheapest model at the time.
     
    Vasudev and c69k like this.
  8. c69k

    c69k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Trophy Points:
    181
    UPDATE: Luckily, false alarm. This 'problem with vertical stripes' LUCKILY only shows in Google Chrome, where I have installed Dark Reader Extension (to make internet pages as dark as possible with white letters).

    I just tried to set any shade of grey as backgruond in my desktop and also similar shade to the one above and there are absolutely no stripes.
     
  9. GNandGS

    GNandGS Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    69
    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I'll bet!.... AW13R1 with AGA+1070 on my end
     
    c69k likes this.
  10. Eurasianman

    Eurasianman Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    40
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    31
    It's been a while, but I have been contemplating on picking up an AGA for my 13R1. However, I was just going to use one of my R9 cards, but it looks like running AMD drivers with NVIDIA drivers can cause some headaches. I was able to play and complete Resident Evil 2 on my current config at 1920x1080p with medium/high settings. Not too shabby for an old spec system. About to play it the second round with Claire and would like to try 1080p with 60 FPS. If I lower the resolution to 1280x720, it's doable, but of course, it is not as pretty. Any input?

    In addition, anyone have any suggestions for replacing the battery? Looks like my battery is going to kick the bucket soon and would love to replace it with the 62 wHr battery that came in the R2s. TIA.
     
Loading...

Share This Page