Nvidia Physx - Not Showing in Nvidia Control Panel

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by monkey123456, Aug 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. monkey123456

    monkey123456 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hey Guys -

    I was looking at moo's new thread for overclocking, and I noticed an option for Nvidia Physx in the nvidia control panel, but i dont have one in mine??? ( I have mine in advanced mode)

    What do I have to download to get this on my M17x? Also, is there a big difference in gaming with this or whatnot?

    thanks guys

    EDIT: Also, is the new nvidia chipset driver worth it (the one from dell)? Is there any reason for me to download this? I notice people not even noticing any improvements in anything?
     
  2. sgilmore62

    sgilmore62 uber doomer

    Reputations:
    356
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Are you looking at Nvidia control panel in stealth mode?
     
  3. monkey123456

    monkey123456 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    nope...In display properties it shows the 260m as the default graphics card
     
  4. The_Moo™

    The_Moo™ Here we go again.....

    Reputations:
    3,973
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    update your driver to something past 179.

    try 186 from bat boy
     
  5. monkey123456

    monkey123456 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    thanks guys...Gonna try batboys driver...I technically dont like messing with this...but theres tons of info on this site and his...so here goes nothing

    BTW:Im not sure if Physx comes pre stocked or installed, but I never tried to install Physx before...so maybe this was the problem
     
  6. monkey123456

    monkey123456 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Found the issue...I dont even have Physx installed (I thought/imagined this would come pre installed/stocked)...It doesnt show in the programs and feature control panel... (still going to install batboy driver for 260m though)

    So, what physx drivers do I need to install 1st, since I heard physx drivers are meant to be applied over each one???

    Im confused
     
  7. lordqarlyn

    lordqarlyn Global Biz Consultant

    Reputations:
    73
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    While we are on the subject....anyone knows any games that will make great use of Physix?
     
  8. monkey123456

    monkey123456 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    EDIT: I found AGEIA Physx on my computer(did a search on my computer) (not sure if its the same thing as the nvidia physx), and the Physx properties says the latest version is v2.7.4... this seems far behind the current version, am I correct?

    EDIT2:i think this is different then the nvidia physx,since under properties then settings, options are totally different
     
  9. monkey123456

    monkey123456 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    ok ive come to the conclusion that I do not have this installed for some reason (more than likely not stock as I didnt uninstall anything)

    Can someone please tell me what I would exactly need to do to get this working... here is the site of the old and new (not newest though) "Nvidia's" Physx software...What should I download, all of them???

    http://developer.nvidia.com/object/physx_archives.html

    Do I need anything else...I want to do this before I install batboys drivers...for some odd reason:confused:
     
  10. sgilmore62

    sgilmore62 uber doomer

    Reputations:
    356
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page