NP700Z5B-S01UB refuses to finish booting

Discussion in 'Samsung' started by Camelonian, Apr 3, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Camelonian

    Camelonian Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the reply! I saw it last week and have been continuing to make some progress. You are correct about the title, this is a NP700Z5B-S01UB but I don't see how to edit my mistake. Could a moderator assist me? As far as the Settings software thread goes, I was going to just update some info there regarding where to obtain that same version of settings since the model you had mentioned was no longer available for selecting downloads to keep people from poking around at random.

    • I installed Settings 2.0.0.89 and and I am able to change a number of things, including brightness and backlighting. However, I don't see ExpressCache as showing up. I'm not sure if that is by design or if there's a misconfiguration.
    • I installed ExpressCache by formatting the iSSD and deleting the partitions. After that was done, I located and installed the Lenovo 1.3.118 software for Windows 10 (found here). It installed without any issue, restarted the PC, and automatically formatted and configured the drive. I restarted a second time and it was noticeably faster and I was able to use ECC commands on it.
    • I abandoned SR5, the backup I had, and Windows 7, given how promising Windows 10 was looking. I will need to capture a new Windows 10 for use as an initial image once I get the AMD issue worked out as well as install a newer version of SR.
    • My biggest issue that remains and keeps this from being a success is this AMD card. I have isolated it completely to the card and have a strong suspicion that the FeatureTestControl values for Intel and/or IntelKMD that are installed by default are wrong, even with the Leshcat drivers. I've used DDU in safe mode to remove any and all traces of both the Intel and AMD drivers as well as deleted the C:\AMD folder to ensure that it's all gone. Upon restarting, both were set up as Generic Display Adapters and I was able to install the AMD Leshcat driver successfully as well as the Intel driver (after restarting from the AMD install). It's important to note that despite the AMD card actually being a Radeon HD6490M, that Windows 10 actually renames a lot of these "legacy" VGA cards to K7400M, so having the wrong name isn't so concerning anymore. At this point, the right resolution options were available, I was able to use HDMI to hook up to another monitor, and things were looking great. It's as soon as I restart from that point is where it goes back to the black screen of death that is so common. If I disable the AMD adapter then it works again, but then the Intel adapter doesn't work with it's drivers anymore either and loads up a generic driver.
    I'm going to continue playing around with different FTC values to see where the sweet spot is that stops this black screen of death and will let everyone know as well as create a guide for this model for those that need it.
     
    Dannemand likes this.
  2. Dannemand

    Dannemand Decidedly Moderate Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    11,269
    Messages:
    4,359
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Thank you for the update. And well done with the progress you are describing.

    I changed the thread title, thanks for confirming your model number.

    ExpressCache does show up in my Settings 2.0.0.89. The fact that it doesn't in your case, makes me wonder if EC is running correctly. What does ECCmd -INFO show? Did you copy the EC.LMF file from your Samsung version of EC after installing the Lenovo version? (as described here)

    And it sounds like you are on the right track with SRS and know what you are doing!

    Regarding the AMD 6490M: On my Win8.1 I am using driver version 13.251.9001 from Windows Update, which also displays the card as 7400M. In fact, all non-Samsung provided drivers I have tried does that. My driver is from 2014, but everything works, and I have no desire to mess with that!

    I am almost (but not completely) sure that when I did my test Win10 installation, I also used a Windows Update provided AMD driver. But something tells me I had an issue of some kind, I just cannot remember. I wish I could be more specific :oops:

    I assume WIn10 is able to use Win8.1 drivers, so if all fails, I guess we could extract the driver installation file from Win8.1. A lot of work, though. Leshcat is probably be the better way to go...

    Please continue to keep us posted with your findings. I'll add this thread to my list, since it covers all of the Sandy Bridge Series 7 models.
     
  3. Camelonian

    Camelonian Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've been pretty busy the past few weeks and hadn't been able to play around with this much, but got a chance to this week. Starting to lean towards the GPU possibly being burned out. Resolutions work and everything else seems okay with the Intel card, all the FTC values i've tried don't seem to matter, and ULPS is off so I know it isn't that. May try reheating the AMD GPU to see if that corrects the problem.

    Will post some screenshots of ECCmd -info here in a bit, I think it is working.

    Does anyone happen to have a copy of the admin tool for SRS7? I may end up just using 6, but would like to create a guide and use 7 if it's available.
     
  4. Dannemand

    Dannemand Decidedly Moderate Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    11,269
    Messages:
    4,359
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    Trophy Points:
    231
    A belated thank you for the update.

    I do not recall discussion of SRS7 in here. You could check the link in this post and see if it has been updated with SRS7. Or send member @dosibox a private message about it.
     
  5. Camelonian

    Camelonian Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I found a post last week about a couple methods to try that basically involves grabbing the .wim image from the SRS 7.3 recovery download and placing it on a bootable USB flash drive. This is all done successfully but I run into problems when I go to create the admin tool. It allows you to create the tool but forces the tool creation destination to the same USB that's being used to run SRS without any option to select a different one, which is so unnecessarily restrictive and frustrating.

    I was going to try loading the environment on the hard drive itself, make it bootable, and then try the tool but haven't gotten to do that just yet. Found another post here that details a similar process that may work as well, so it'll be another avenue to try. Will try PMing dosibox first though per your suggestion (thank you) just to save time if there's an admin tool iso handy.

    Oh! It looks like my media that I uploaded was approved, so i've got those ExpressCache images here for your review.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  6. Dannemand

    Dannemand Decidedly Moderate Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    11,269
    Messages:
    4,359
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I see you found member @Gulfmaster's excellent SRS thread, which has become our new go-to resource on SRS. I am falling behind on SRS matters myself, and had not even noticed the SRS7 discussions in there :oops:

    From your screenshots I'd say it looks like ExpressCache is working and doing what it is supposed to. But I am still surprised that your Samsung Settings doesn't show it: Again, I have a Boot Management tab with an ExpressCache toggle (see below). That's with Settings 2.0.0.89 (found in SW Update under model NP930X5J, Win7 drivers, inside the Easy Settings 2.0.0.89 package) and ExpressCache 1.0.0.98 (found in SW Update under model NP540U4E, Win8 drivers).

    Win8 Settings (Boot Management).png

    (BTW, I find that the easiest way to include images in a post is using the Upload a file button underneath the text entry box. But it only works when writing a new post, not when editing a post.)
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  7. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,525
    Messages:
    9,509
    Likes Received:
    4,921
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Personally I never used SR5 or others. I just used the default windows backup and restore.
     
  8. Camelonian

    Camelonian Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I may try reinstalling ExCache again once I get SR working, and thanks for the tips on image uploads. Win10 backup and restore works well, just trying to experiment some with the SRS software to see what's new.
     
  9. Dannemand

    Dannemand Decidedly Moderate Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    11,269
    Messages:
    4,359
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I finally installed Win10 (Creators Update) on my Samsung NP700Z3A last week. I haven't used it much since, but I managed to get everything working.

    As described here, I installed ExpressCache 1.3.110 and copied EC.LMF from my previous Win8.1 ExpressCache folder to the new ExpressCache folder. That works fine and speeds up my disk quite a bit, as usual.

    I continue to use Samsung Settings version 2.0.0.89, which (as described here) is the latest I can find that still supports BLE and EC. Everything seems to work (Fn-keys, keyboard backlight, power plans, Silent Mode, sleep/resume etc). I DON'T get an ExpressCache tab in Settings, which I attribute to the non-Samsung EC version. It is only rarely I need to disable it anyway. I DO get a BLE tab, which I used frequently when I want to charge to 100% instead of 80%. (BLE can always be changed in BIOS, but it is more convenient in Settings.)

    My only problem was Windows Update insisting on installing an AMD driver that causes a long delay during boot and whenever an app enumerates the device tree. I finally installed Leshcat's combo driver, which works, and so far has stopped Windows Update from messing with it.

    Other than those, all drivers were installed automatically during Windows Setup, and a few subsequently by Windows Update. Needless to say, I did NOT connect to WiFi during Setup, to prevent Windows Update from running until after I had installed the Leshcat AMD driver.

    The hoops we have to go through to keep our computers running DESPITE Microsoft's attempts to mess them up :eek:
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2017
  10. Sachs

    Sachs Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    My amd gpu is burnt for sure and I wonder if anyone knows how to physically disconnect this garbage. I have installed the latest version of windows 10 (1709) and everything is perfect but do not even consider installing the amd trash drivers. For this I disable windows update and for this reason I would like to remove the chip. Thank you.It seems that turning off a coil voltage regulator near the gpu does disconnect the chip, can anyone help?
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2017
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page