Notebook for Photographer

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Teendoctor, Sep 2, 2017.

1. Teendoctor

Teendoctor Newbie

Reputations:
    Hello everyone,

My husband sent me here because I am interested in replacing my photography editing desktop computer with a laptop. The computer I have in my home studio was built by my husband. The problem I have with it is 1) not portable, of course and 2) Photoshop (mostly) and Lightroom (sometimes) run sluggishly. It can take over 60 seconds to save a Photoshop file.

My husband says that it is a disk issue and not a processor issue. Me, I haven't a clue. I'm a photographer and all of this is Greek to me. I believe the current computer has an SSD drive as the c drive but some other larger and almost filled drive for the storage. I try to move files to my EHD, but I don't always remember. Having these multiple drives also becomes a time sink since I have to point PS to the F drive in order to save since it wants to save on the C drive. My husband has not been able to set things up so that programs run from the C drive but my documents and files go to the F drive. When he first installed the new C drive, the computer wouldn't even grant me access to the F drive. That was a mess.

Anyway, I digress. I think that because I edit in my home, I also travel and may edit at our vacation home, a laptop would be the way to go. My plan is to use a docking station in my home studio and in our vacation home but the screen when I travel. I don't have much more intelligent to add since I know little else about computers.

START COPY
    ==========

General Questions

1) What is your budget? Under $3000

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    a. Netbook; 10" screen or less
    b. Ultraportable; 11" - 12" screen
    c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen
    d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen
    e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

Thin and light
    Mainstream