Norton Internet Security 2008 Upgrade to 2009

Discussion in 'Security and Anti-Virus Software' started by steelroots7xe, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steelroots7xe

    steelroots7xe Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    73
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hey guys,

    Before I went and called Norton, I was just wondering if anyone has already done this. I recently purchased a new notebook last month, and also bought Norton Internet Security 2008 along with it. However, I didn't know that Norton Internet Security 2009 would come out a few weeks later.

    I have used only 1 out of the 3 users on the software (on another notebook at home), and have still been running the trial Norton Internet Security on my new notebook, but I am planning to install Norton 2008 very soon since I only have 2 days left for trial to expire.

    Is is possible for me to receive a free upgrade to Norton Internet Security 2009 even if I purchased the 2008 version? How do I go about doing this? Will Norton still allow me on the two remaining installations I have left to upgrade to 2009?

    Some other websites have said that I could get a free upgrade, but others say I have to pay...
     
  2. adyingwren

    adyingwren Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    77
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You should be able to get the upgrade for free. Try calling symantec or email them. I heard something about a random email popping up saying that you're eligible for an upgrade too. Call them
     
  3. fonduekid

    fonduekid JSUTAONHTERBIRCKINTEHWLAL

    Reputations:
    1,407
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Yes, I had NIS '08 and upgraded for free to NIS '09.. (I have a 3 yr subscrip. though!!)

    But in your case, I am not sure.... because since u anyway have only a trial NIS '08, and you are planning to get the full paid version, why are you going for '08?? You can very well get the NIS '09 straight away right??

    Anyway, get on Symantec chat, instead of emailing them.. the chat is quicker to get all the replies for whatever you have to aks them.

    For adying > the random email is for people who have a running subscrip. to NIS '08. Again, it was not clear if the email would be for a free upgrade, but the symantec chat guy told me that he will give me the free upgrade *since* I had a *3 year subscrip.*
     
  4. Baserk

    Baserk Notebook user

    Reputations:
    2,503
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    If you have bought NIS 2008, you can simply use the activation key you got for NIS 2009.
    However, Symantec advises to uninstall NIS 2008 with the Norton Removal Tool and only then install NIS 2009.
    So, first download the NIS 2009 trial version (this is the full program for which you can use your NIS 2008 activation key).
    Take a look at this Symantec page and follow all the steps.
    When you have uninstalled NIS 2008, make sure to activate the Windows firewall if you want to use your notebook online before installing NIS 2009!
    Cheers.
     
  5. steelroots7xe

    steelroots7xe Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    73
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks guys. All your advice really helped.

    I tried everything you guys suggested and it worked. Running Norton Internet Security 2009 now with no problem. And yes, you do have to uninstall the 2008 version with the Norton Removal Tool. And also, the product key for 2008 works fine if entered with 2009, but you just have to download the program from the site. I didn't even need to use the NIS 2008 CD. My NIS 2008 is valid for a 1-year subscription so I'll be running NIS 2009 for a year, until probably NIS 2010 comes out.

    And just to note...Norton was really helpful with customer service support. In fact, they've had the best out of any tech company I've encountered. I first had the option to call, but why pay when there are free alternatives? So I instead used Symantec chat (as fonduekid suggested) and the customer service rep was very amiable and compliant to my requests. In fact, he insisted that he stay online for the entire duration that I uninstalled/installed, etc. my program, which took about an hour.

    The chat service was indeed a lot better and more efficient compared to other companies' services. I've used the Asus chat service before and the service rep was impatient and logged-out on me about 3 times causing me to instead call their office.

    Anyways, for anyone experiencing Norton problems, I'd suggest going on Symantec chat as it is very efficient and will solve your problems.
     
  6. fonduekid

    fonduekid JSUTAONHTERBIRCKINTEHWLAL

    Reputations:
    1,407
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    ^ I have to agree with what you said there...

    To be honest, I think Symantec Chat and Support have been one of the best I have dealt with... (apart from M$, who helped me very well with one issue I had with system restore!.. they were good too)

    But yeah, Norton support is pretty good and the guys there actually *know* what they are talking about, at least as far as I have seen. They are a nice bunch to get help from (apart from NBR that is... :D)
     
  7. steelroots7xe

    steelroots7xe Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    73
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Yes...With two people already satisfied with Symantec Chat, I think they're really a great service support center. They probably train their staff alot better compared to companies like Asus. The only return the service rep asked me was to stay online for about 2 extra minutes so he can note down the case he dealt with and he respectfully informed me about a possible email Symantec might send me regarding a cutomer service survey which he said I had the option to fill out or not. But after his courteous disposition, there's no question that I'd fill that survey out and complement Symantec for their service.

    Haha...but yeah, most problems can already be resolved in NBR alone with its great community...haha
     
  8. Matt is Pro

    Matt is Pro I'm a PC, so?

    Reputations:
    347
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Just go to Norton's website and download the files. It will give you the most up-to-date version of NIS. This is how I got NIS 2008 ver15.5, which is needed to work with FF3.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page