Noobe Help: Gateway® P-7805u FX Edition upgrade to X9100

Discussion in 'Gateway and eMachines' started by jjetmec, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. jjetmec

    jjetmec Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Totally new at all of this so I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

    I have read previous threads looking for the answer to my question but still confused. Love my P-7805u FX Edition but need more speed to run my Microsoft FLight Sim FSX. It is power hungry for speed and CPU speed is primmary factor for increase FPS. Not designed to take advantage of new technolgy other then increased CPU speed with Dual Core only. So after reading this I was very excited to find out I can upgrade the CPU to the X9100...siked but scared to do it.

    Looking for some basic advise: Just to clarify it is correct that the x9100 mobile will fit into the Intel® PM45 Chipset4 w/o any modifications to factory hardware?

    ANd if so: Is there anything I should know or do with factory model or settings other then remove old CPU and install the x9100?

    UPdate bios or other drivers? Software updates? Never did anything with bios before, or anything like that so before I jump in and spend a few hundred want to make sure I dont mess things up???

    ALso is there any specific version of x9100 t look for or advoid?

    Oh..almost forgot..also want to do a windows 7 upgrade from vista 64..any known issues with that?

    Thanx so much in advance...jjetmec

    Gateway® P-7805u FX Edition
    Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor2 P8400 (2.26GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 3MB L2 Cache)1
    4096MB 1066MHz DDR3 Dual Channel Memory (2-2048MB modules)4
    Chassis with NVIDIA® GeForce® 9800M GTS Graphics with 1GB of GDDR3 Discrete Video Memory and Intel® PM45 Chipset4
     
    Lasted edited by : May 8, 2015
  2. Sandman686

    Sandman686 Newbie

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey jjetmec, A X9100 will work. The P7805u is set up for a 25W processor, and the X9100 is a 45W processor, which is really pushing the envelope. I’d recommend looking at a T9800 or T9900, both of which are 35W processors that offer pretty much the same performance as the X9100, while generating much less heat.

    Just remove the cpu and use good thermal, pop it in and your good to go. You shouldn't need to update the bios.

    As for Windows 7 upgrade, that should go smoothly. It will load most drivers for you and then look online for ones that are missing...good bye Vista!

    Hope I answered some of your concerns.
     
  3. jjetmec

    jjetmec Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    awesome...thanx so much! quick response also. I will check out the recommended chips. jetmec



     
  4. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,713
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    6,467
    Likes Received:
    259
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Here we go again, no the TPD has NOTHING to do with the heat at rated speed. The x9100 can safely output 45w TPD where the others only the rated TPD. This gives the x9100 overclocking headroom so long as the cooling solution is adaquate.

    What does matter with the x9100 and other chips is get the stepping E0 not C0. The C0's are older revision and tend to generate more heat. Most x9100's with E0 stepping are the ES versions though. Most of the OEM x9100's are C0. If you go with the ES version just be sure to get the final or qualifying version.

    If you do not care about overclocking either the 35w T9900 or 25w P9700 are great choices...................
     
  5. jjetmec

    jjetmec Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanx....good info. Not concerned about overclocking at this point. Just something to run by MSFS FSX at higher FPS and the current spped is fine. Keep for a year or 2 then new generation filight sims coing out will most likely upgrade to a whole new system at that point.

    In regards to different versions of CPU..how about the T9900 any recommendations with that OEM vs other? Also started doing shop price shopping..saw some good prices on ebay. some say "just cpu with nothing else...i.e.Fan unit"? whats up with that do i need CPU with fan unit..can i use fan already in my gateway P-78..any advise on that is helpful,

    Remember I am a total Noobe when it comes to hardware upgrade stuff especially with a lap top...more comfortable with my desk top stuff easy to upgrade. Keep it really simple for me with techno talk.

    Any recommendations for were to purchase?






     
  6. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,713
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    6,467
    Likes Received:
    259
    Trophy Points:
    251
    if you re a TOTAL newb my suggestion is to get a non newbie to atleast help you if not do the entire upgrade. While a fairly simple thing to do once you know till you do it is considered major surgery. As far as what you need, yes just the CPU and some new TIM material....

    For the CPU and T9900 get a SLGEE others could be ES or BGA converted to PGA...............
     
  7. InfectedSonic

    InfectedSonic Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    229
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    31
    make sure you look at the prices for all your options. what i mean by this is that when i bought my x9100 it was actually much cheaper then buying a t9900. i dont know if that is still the case but its something to be aware of.

    i dunno if you would know how to overclock the x9100 but if you get that cpu and overclock it even a little itll be faster then the t9900. (you can look at the throttlestop thread so you can find out what you would need to do) honestly its not very hard and not much danger is involved as long as you dont go nuts and pump the cpu with too much power.(there is no way for you to do this without you noticing or on accident)

    i agree with what has been said about getting someone to help you though because its something that although not hard your levels of stress could cause you to mess something up. at the very least watch a few vids on how its done that are floating around on the net.
     
  8. patrickj1962

    patrickj1962 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    will the intel qx9300 fit in place of the x9100 and still work? it has the same pin numbers and is a P slot like the x9100. Only diff i can find is that the qx9300 is a quad core and the xx9100 is a double core. both are duo core. both are 45W.
     
  9. Clarkalel

    Clarkalel Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    FX model don't support QX9300 as it is Quad core , the motherboard on these model on support up to Core 2 Duo or extreme.
     
  10. jonatbaylor

    jonatbaylor Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Man my internet is some seriously slow . Took 40 minutes for this page to load. Anyways, how do we know if the CPU we are looking at is E0 or C0?

    Is is readable by code/stamp on CPU silicon somewhere?

    I'm seeing different kinds of X9100's. Some designated QBWD, SLB48, X928C, SLGE7 etc..

    Thanks!

    yes it only took 19 minutes to edit this! lol
     
Similar Threads: Noobe Help
Forum Title Date
Gateway and eMachines Probably the noobest question ever about the P6831FX Apr 10, 2008
Gateway and eMachines P-7807u TME unlocking/PLL mod help Jun 18, 2015
Gateway and eMachines help please...i broke my 7805U May 4, 2014
Gateway and eMachines Rebuilding FX-7811 - Wont power on - need help Dec 5, 2013
Gateway and eMachines Gateway revival (almost) New HD, BIOS Update Fail!!!! A little help???? Oct 21, 2013

Share This Page