No Audio Output Device is Installed

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by kevin071586, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kevin071586

    kevin071586 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hi all,

    I'm here to try to tackle a problem that I know is rampant among HP owners (among many other laptop brands as well). The issue is the infamous "no audio" problem.

    My volume icon in the system try reads "No audio output device is installed." The audio device is not even recognized in the device manager (i.e. there is no yellow exclamation point or conflicted device to update a driver to). The system simply does not recognize the fact that a sound device exists.

    I have tried many, many things:

    • Fresh install (as per the sticky-guide) of Windows Vista x64 Home Premium
    • Fresh recovery from system recovery partition
    • Tried all versions of the drivers from the HP support page (Realtek and Conexant) --- I believe I have conexant, though.
    • Safe mode driver installs
    • Driver installs on a driver signing reboot
    • Putting the computer into hibernate, then resuming (odd, I know.. I heard it worked sometiems).
    • Made sure "Windows Audio" service is enabled in Administrative Tools\Services
    • Installed Windows XP drivers for "Microsoft High Definition Audio controller"
    • Flashed BIOS to most recent version F.32
    • Updated chispet drivers to most recent nForce availablee
    • Installed Vista SP2

    I'm sure there must be one or two more things that I've tried and just can't remember. I am running Windows Vista x64 Home Premium with SP1.

    I have read that something in the SP1 update causes this to happen. However, I don't have a Vista install disk without SP1 already on it to verify. Can anybody else verify this?

    Please offer any solutions you may have for this issue. This is a major issue for a lot of people, and I'm sure many members of this forum can attest to that!

    Thanks,

    Kevin
     
  2. kevin071586

    kevin071586 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    $10 paypal prize for the first person to identify the solution to my problem... lol
     
  3. schoko

    schoko Custom User Title

    Reputations:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    55
    well, in which order have you installed the drivers ?

    i think i can remember somebody had exactly that issue, and the problem seemed to be a messed up installation. he wasn´t able to install the realtek drivers... they simply would not install.

    i dunno if you get along without reinstalling your os, but you might wanna try installing the latest chipset drivers (from intel i guess) and after a reboot you might install the realtek drivers.

    if that does not work you might wanna consider reinstalling the os and install the latest chipset drivers (download them directly from intel), reboot, and install the realtek drivers.

    btw. if it works just keep your virtual money. go and buy a real beer for it, but only if it works ;)
     
  4. kevin071586

    kevin071586 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks for the reply!

    I have certainly tried reinstalling the chipset drivers, however they were the ones included with the factory System Recovery partition in the C:\SWSetup folder. I'll have to figure out what chipset is in the dv9000 (dv9925nr specifically) to see if I can get the most up to date drivers.

    I'll try that when I get home.. would the chipset name be in the System Information dialog? HP doesn't list any motherboard/chipset drivers for it on their drivers page. The system has an AMD Turion x64 CPU. I think it has an Nvidia nForce chipset...
     
  5. taj619

    taj619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    have u downloaded uaa drivers might help i guess
    before installing the audio drivers install uaa drivers
     
  6. kevin071586

    kevin071586 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Yea, I installed the Microsoft High Definition Audio Controller.. the patch KB##### is for Windows XP (unless there is one for Vista that I do not know about). I tried it anyways. It installed without trouble, but didn't do anything to help either. I have since reformatted.
     
  7. schoko

    schoko Custom User Title

    Reputations:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    55
    uaa drivers are for win xp only to get the hd audio working.

    well, there´s everest. that nifty little tool can tell you everything about the internals of your notebook. you can get a trial version from http://www.lavalys.com/
     
  8. taj619

    taj619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    well u said sp1 caused this prb. however i have read that sp2 has specifically caused it and microsoft did provide soluition might try to find it on their site and see if it helps
     
  9. kevin071586

    kevin071586 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do you have any idea where I could find that article?? The OEM OS is Vista Home Premium x64 with SP1 pre-installed -- so there is no way to remove SP1. However, I can install SP2. If there is a known solution to for it on a SP2 system, then perhaps I could update and install the patch..
     
  10. taj619

    taj619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    well im not sure but u might try the microsoft site for it
     
Similar Threads: Audio Output
Forum Title Date
HP & Compaq dv2500t HDMI audio output using Win XP Jan 7, 2010
HP & Compaq Windows 7 No Audio Output device installed Sep 27, 2009
HP & Compaq Realtek HD Audio - Microphone Output MISSING Mar 5, 2008
HP & Compaq audio output on HDMI (DV2700t) Feb 22, 2008
HP & Compaq HDMI outputs audio and video right? only video for my 2500t. Dec 11, 2007

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page