New Latitude 5470

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by jasperjones, Dec 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mr_handy

    mr_handy Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Ah, bummer. Do you see adequate Turbo performance before the speed drops below the rated speed?

    With the M3800, the combination of DPTF version and Intel HD graphics driver version has made a big difference in how the speed/throttling has worked.

    Do you have a 90W adapter or a 65W? If the standard 65W, do you have any 90W adapters around? If so, you might see if it will behave any better with the 90W?
     
  2. paper_wastage

    paper_wastage Beat this 7x7x7 Cube

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    56
    what do you consider "adequate" Turbo? how many seconds?

    From the screenshot, you can see that it hit 43.74W + 3.6ghz (chip's max turbo frequency).... let me do some testing to see how long it stays there

    more concerned about the under-performance at 35W + 2.5ghz (below chip's base frequency of 2.7ghz), and idle around 40+C
    http://ark.intel.com/products/88970/Intel-Core-i7-6820HQ-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_60-GHz

    65W adapter. Don't have any 90W adapter, but I doubt this is the bottleneck. My money is on the HSF design/thermal paste
     
  3. mr_handy

    mr_handy Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I missed the "max" column -- less about the time than whether on a light load but 1 thread locked at 100%, does it reach nearly max?

    I'm wondering if 2.5ghz IS the base frequency for the 35W profile... similar reports (which you may have already seen) about the T460p.

    Pity. Am curious whether the 5570/3510 behaves better, or whether the cooling is any different on the i5-6440+dGPU combination (which I'd normally avoid, but if like the 7450 the cooling is better, it might be worth it.)
     
  4. paper_wastage

    paper_wastage Beat this 7x7x7 Cube

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    56
    (I was using Prime95 + In-Place Large FFTs test, max power consumption, some RAM tested)

    If I do one of the easier tests, CPU still stays at 35W + ~90degC & 100%, but the clock speed goes between 2.8-3.3ghz
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
  5. tr0tt3r

    tr0tt3r Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just ordered a Latitutde e5570 with i5 6300u and 256gb ssd. I am very courious if the WWAN port cand be used for a second ssd. Please keep us posted paper_wastage.

    LE.:
    Got hold of my laptop. Didn't open the back cover yet. In normal use (chrome with 5,6 tabs, word, itunes all open) it's dead silent for most of the time, but when the fan does start spinning I can hear a faint whirr, don;t know exactly how to describe it. It sure ain't a whoosh.

    I have one sitck of 8gb memory installed. Does it need to be the exactly same manufacturer, or can I install an 8gb sodimm from Kinston for example?
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  6. paper_wastage

    paper_wastage Beat this 7x7x7 Cube

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    56
    You should match the timings (dell probably gave you cas15 anyways), but in theory anyddr4 sodimm should work(at lowest speeds)

    There isn't a low voltage version of ddr4 yet, so no issues with that

    The fans are quiet, but base runs hot. On Idle, My thermal thermometer says it's 38-40C on the bottom of laptop near the heatsinj (CPU is around 45C)

    I rather have the fans spinning a little go reduce temperature. Speedfan doesn't work in windoes10
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  7. tr0tt3r

    tr0tt3r Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the confirmation. I read somewhere else that it si no problem to mount different RAMs, but wasn't sure.
    I recieved it with windows 7.
    Yes the base does run a little hot, even with my lower voltage cpu. For me it is not a problem. I hope the i5 6300u will not throttle.
     
  8. Stan123

    Stan123 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Did the 5570 come with the Thunderbolt 3 port? It is still showing "Winter 2016" on the Canadian sales site. Also, did you get the SATA or PCIe drive?
     
  9. tr0tt3r

    tr0tt3r Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It has a SATA drive and it does not have Thunderbolt 3.


    LE.: I have switched from Win 7 to Win 10 and the laptop runs much cooler and the battery last almost twice as much
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  10. Stan123

    Stan123 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Why did you choose a SATA drive instead PCIe drive?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page