New Gaming & Art Laptop

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by An Extra Truth, Apr 18, 2020.

1. An Extra Truth

An Extra Truth Newbie

Reputations:
    General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    $1300-$2000, with a little wiggle room to go above if needed.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    a. Ultraportable; 10" - 12" screen
    c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen
    d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen
    e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen
    Looking for a 17in primarily, but I’m willing to go down to 15 or lower if the laptop is good and there’s good ports for external monitors.

3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    United States

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: ASUS (kinda)
    b. Dislike: Dell? Acer?

I’ll admit that I’m still learning about brand reputations, but I’ll admit that I’ve heard enough damning things about Dell and Acer to be reluctant to get anything from them without extensive research or an ironclad long lasting warranty. My last laptop was an ASUS G75VW which lasted for about 8 years, but it did burn out a motherboard in it’s 3rd or 4th year. I would be open to getting another ASUS product, but I have no strong loyalties to the brand or anything.
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    I would.

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    Mostly gaming, digital painting and art (Photoshop mostly), and writing. I use a wacom tablet, so I don’t need a touchscreen or stylus.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    Probably both, but not anywhere far from a charger realistically (Coffee shops and friend’s houses really). I still have a chromebook for any time I’d want actual battery life. For the most part though, the laptop will be in my room.