Need to boost my Laptop Wifi Range... how?

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by AaronCW, Aug 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AaronCW

AaronCW Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Morning all.

I need a device to boost my wifi range on the laptop. It has an internal g/n(draft) card... it does pretty well in most instances. But, since I am a truck driver, a lot of times I find myself parked JUST BARELY out of range. I mean, I can see the signal... but it is very poor, and not steady or continuous at all times.

A common scenario is that I am parked at a Truck Stop that offers free wifi, but I am 80 ft from the store, or parked just around a corner or blocked off from the signal by 2-3 rows of parked trucks.

I saw a link for something that looked like a telescope, I think it was called "Cantena Antenna" or something like that. That is def in my price range (I think it was $50 or less) but I was wondering how difficult it would be to setup on a nightly basis and how large the thing was. If I could throw it in back of my truck during the day, and just extend the legs at night and hook it up in a jiffy... that might be right up my ally. But I'm not interested in anything thats going to take 2 hours to position just right or any home made devices that I'll have to build myself or takes hours to assemble or disassemble.

Thx for any advice!

2. The_Observer

The_Observer 9262 is the best:)

Reputations:
    You can get a cheap booster which will amplify the signal.Most of those telescopic amplifiers need antenna based cards.

3. AaronCW

Reputations:
    Any recommendations about what Brand and where to buy?

4. Wirelessman

Wirelessman Monkeymod

Reputations:
  5. chemistry

chemistry Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
  6. smoothie.

smoothie. Newbie

Reputations:
    have you considered a high speed internet card?