Need OC help

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by voidz, Sep 21, 2017.

1. voidz

voidz Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi guys,

I recently received my AW15 R3 with 7820 HK + GTX 1070 g-sync a few days ago and need a bit of help with the OC settings. I've never done it, so it's my first time, but I've been reading around the forums regarding OCs settings but would like to make sure.

What settings should I be using in XTU in order to run it @ 3.9Ghz on all 4 cores with out any power limit throttling? And realistically, how much voltage off-set can I achieve?

Thanks!

Vasudev likes this.
  2. Midas Touch

Midas Touch Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    First we need to know your thermal temperatures in all cores including the GPU temp. so that we know if you're safe to overclock. Download HWinfo64 (I prefer the portable version) to monitor the temps, and if you have intel XTU already installed run stress test for at least 15 minutes but keep monitoring the temps.

Last edited: Sep 21, 2017
    Vasudev likes this.
  3. Riktar

Riktar Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Interested in this as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Danishblunt

Danishblunt Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    I got the 7820HK to 5.1kGHZ stable on a MSI titan, but you need to mod the EC and BIOS in order to get those high numbers.

3.9ghz should be rather easy to do. You shouldn't up any voltages, just straight up up the multis for every core to 3.9ghz, it should work.

hmscott and Vasudev like this.
  5. Pete Light

Pete Light Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    He's right, and for 3.9GHz you can actually undervolt the cores in order to keep the temps in check too if needed. 3.9 is easy for the 7820HK, even if you're unlucky in the silicon lottery...