Need help with ThrottleStop

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Mr.K-1994, Jul 23, 2018.

  1. Mr.K-1994

    Mr.K-1994 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Dear fellow forum members,
    I am currently using an Acer Predator Helios 300 with an i7-7700HQ,GTX 1060 6GB and 8GB of RAM.
    For some time now, I have been using ThrottleStop and to be honest, I am confused.
    I am not talking about the undervolting, but the rest of the programs seem...unclear.
    So I am trying to look for is a balance of performance and heat for the first profile-Performance and the second-Battery is about the balance of battery life and performance.
    I have tried like 3 times now and I am so desperate in the doing so.
    Can anyone please give me a guide, a detailed one with proper guidelines or tips and tricks for doing these things?

    Anything is appreciated. Thanks beforehand.


    Ps:the Speed Shift value is so hard to tune.​
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018
  2. michealscott

    michealscott Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Have you down some undervolting?

    Kaby Lake HQ series seem to undervolt pretty well, around -120 mV for the 7700HQ but yours could be different. See if your chip handles that, if not bump it down 10 mV and keep doing that until your chip is stable and has no errors during stress testing. You should also do a CPU+GPU test for 15 minutes to ensure rock solid stability.

    To stress test your CPU get Prime95 and run a 15 minute Small FFTs torture test with the flag "CpuSupportsAVX=0" in local.txt file in your Prime95 folder. This disables AVX as AVX with small FFTs is too much. If you want more peace of mind, run a custom stress test and set minimum FFT size to 1344K and maximum FFT size 1344K and run it for another 15 minutes.

    For GPU combined testing, get Unigine Heaven and run it alongside Prime95 small FFTs.

    After all this comes an idle test. Go to start and type "msconfig" and hit enter, click services, check "Hide all non Microsoft services and disable all of them except drivers. Also disable any startup programs except drivers in Task Manager. After that is all done, restart, login and don't touch the system for an hour. If your machine is still active and responsive, it is stable.

    Set this undervolt for all profiles.

    P.S: Core/cache undervolt the same and they also undervolt the same so if you do -120 mV on core, do it in cache too.


    Back to throttlestop

    Assign profile 1 to AC Profile under options and don't touch it.

    Rename Profile 2 to "Melting" under options and check "NVIDIA GPU" and "Alarm" and restart TS. After that open Options and under alarm set the CPU DTS to 15 and GPU Temp to 85 degrees. CPU profile box right under DTS should be 2 and the same for the box under the GPU Temp box.

    This should allow Throttlestop to disable intel turbo boost when the CPU or GPU get too hot, allowing the CPU to cool down and go back to full speed.

    Goto options in TS and set battery profile to 2 and low battery profile to 2 aswell. You can decide what the low battery percentage is. E.g: 35% means TS switches to profile 2, disabling turbo boost and saves battery.





    Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
     
  3. Mr.K-1994

    Mr.K-1994 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Hey thanks for the reply.
    I will try again tonight.
    May I ask,how can I set up Speed Shift EET?
    Yea,I have done some undervolting before but they were imperfect.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018
  4. michealscott

    michealscott Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    41
    @Mr.K-1994

    Speedstep determines dynamic turbo boost and voltage depending on the task. SpeedShift was the software version of this and this is the hardware version which means the these dynamic changes are made faster. Leave both enabled and untouched.
     
  5. Mr.K-1994

    Mr.K-1994 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Thanks,again,but for my specific laptop model,a guy said that if you entered the value of 0,the CPU will run at 3.8GHz at ALL CORES.I mean,how is this possible?
    And the same guy,who apprently is one of top-tier members if not the best one of the Acer English Predator community,also said you could improve battery life of you tuned at the right value.
    Can you confirm that this is the truth?Or maybe UncleWebb can give me an answer?
     
  6. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks! Dont wast your $ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    15,651
    Messages:
    19,908
    Likes Received:
    31,239
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Nope!!
     
  7. Mr.K-1994

    Mr.K-1994 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    41
  8. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks! Dont wast your $ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    15,651
    Messages:
    19,908
    Likes Received:
    31,239
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Image from your link. Average 3.8GHz on all cores... The man who posted this is blind. Previous gen Intel Mobile i7-7700Hq processor as showed in the link is fully locked down. And its a 45w chips... (Power_Limit_1) set at 45W. + the Clock speed multiplicators is locked. Explanation below. In some notebook models you may get rise the BCLK clock up to 103 if you are lucky. But thats it.
    upload_2018-7-26_1-3-5.png

    The only locked down Mobile processors from the last 5 years who can be tricked to run higher clock speed than default clock frequency is the Intel Core Haswell Mobile processors from 2013/14. This due a BUG i firmware. Here is the link if interested.

    As you have seen in your link stated... "Now for the trick, you can use throttlestop (theres a lot of videos on Youtube) and set its speed shift eep to "0" and it makes all CPU cores able to reach 3.6-3.8ghz simultaneously.
    Also speed shift removes the OS control of speed step which helps govern tasks much more efficiently and it increases performance as well."


    This is pure ****y. The man have to learn what polling Period frequency means. Aka how fast the monitoring software refresh the info showed.

    If you want more info than being said in this post... You could of couse ask the ThrottleStop author @unclewebb in The ThrottleStop Guide :vbthumbsup: But the answer will be the same.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2018
    Ashtrix likes this.
  9. Mr.K-1994

    Mr.K-1994 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    41
    But do you have any explanation about that screenshot?If it wasn't true then how was it displayed in MSI afterburner monitoring?
     
  10. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks! Dont wast your $ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    15,651
    Messages:
    19,908
    Likes Received:
    31,239
    Trophy Points:
    931
    The refresh rate aka the software monitoring speed (polling period frequency) is a lot slower than the clock speed who jumping around several times a second.
    upload_2018-7-26_2-38-29.png

    See. I have all 6 cores at 4.3GHz (default). But Hwinfo64 monitoring software cant keep up with how the clock speed changes around and show all 6 cores at 4.5GHz (polling period too slow). But this doesn't mean my chips run 4.5GHz on all 6 cores.
    upload_2018-7-26_3-19-1.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2018
    Ashtrix likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page