Need help with budget gaming laptop!

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by alexprime, Feb 11, 2018.

1. alexprime

alexprime Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey everyone,

I need a budget gaming laptop with an AMAZING keyboard. I literally cannot stress enough how much need it to have a really solid, good keyboard- it's literally my biggest requirement. I'm a writer and will be typing for roughly ten or twelve hours a day. Currently, I have a Sager NP8130 that I have loved for years (and I adore the keyboard on it), but it's time for an upgrade.

I do some gaming, but I do a fair bit of 3D modeling, photoshop work, and so on. I'd prefer it to have at least the capability to run all that well. I wouldn't mind an RGB keyboard either (not a huge requirement, of course), and also a pretty decent trackpad, since it's my primary mouse.

Thanks everyone!

General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    Up to $1100 (preferably, I would really like to stay under that if at all possible and am firm on that).

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    15"-16"
    3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.
    USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    I currently have a Sager NP8130, and I love it.
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    Possibly, but preferably new

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    Typing, browsing, gaming, heavy Photoshop use, light 3D modeling

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    It will travel with me, but I am used to hauling around a 6lb laptop, so weight isn't a huge issue.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? If so, please state which games or types of games?
    Photoshop, Cities: Skylines, Planet Coaster, Sims 3-4, Batman Arkham series.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?