Need help choosing a laptop to run ANSYS Maxwell

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by MrManhattan, Sep 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrManhattan

MrManhattan Newbie

Reputations:
    I am currently working on my master's thesis and need a personal computer that will allow me to use ANSYS Maxwell. I have read that ANSYS works closely with NVIDIA, but I have not been able to find any details about ANSYS Maxwell.

I should start off by saying I am by no means an expert in these things, so I don't really know what this interaction is, just that the pairing makes ANSYS run faster. I am aware that NVIDIA Tesla and Quadro GPU's are good for ANSYS Mechanical and Fluent. Is there a specific GPU that works with Maxwell? I have found this group of Lenovo laptops which seems on the right track, and some of them list NVIDIA Maxwell GPU's. Does the NVIDIA Maxwell GPU work with ANSYS Maxwell in the same way that NVIDIA Tesla GPU's work with ANSYS Mechanical and Fluent?

I have spoken with NVIDIA and am trying to speak with ANSYS. But I'm guessing that because electromagnetic modeling is not as big right now (though it's getting there) there is no dedicated card for ANSYS Maxwell. Given this, I am looking at comparisons between high-end gaming laptops and low-end workstations. I was suggested this ASUS ROG laptop over on /r/SuggestALaptop. At my price point, this would compare to the cheapest version of the Lenovo P70's. The CPU is the same in both, but the graphics card on the ASUS is an NVIDIA GTX 1060 with 16 GB of VRAM. The graphics card on the Lenovo is an NVIDIA Quadro with 2 GB of VRAM. What does this tradeoff look like? Can the GTX run a simulation at the same speed or faster than the Quadro?

If the NVIDIA GPU is so focused on working well with ANSYS, does that make it less capable for other high performance tasks like gaming or other modeling? Is there any way to quantify this difference (that I could understand)?